Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


an act of kindness
2000-10-02 @ 00:26:25

I witnessed a small but meaningful event yesterday. This little old lady was in the line next to me at the check out stands in the grocery store. She had a modest amount of goods to buy, and had already been waiting for quite awhile. Much as I had been doing. A young man, rather rough looking, came up behind her with just a item or two and she told him to go on ahead of her.

This was such a small thing, but it really made me pause and think about how rushed my life, and many of those around me have become. Her small deed of kindness had a chain reaction effect. A man came to stand behind me. He had only a box of light bulbs. When I said he could go ahead he did not even look at me or acknoledge me. He just stepped up in front of me, and proceeded to check out, but I didn't care. I was not looking for recognition, just acknoledging that I need to slow down. Not get my panties in a bunch. Things are going to happen regardless if I'm running or walking at a nice pace.

It's odd how little things like that can have such an effect on a person. I wonder if the chain reaction kept on going. Did someone else do an act of kindness, because of my actions? Or did it stop there?

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.