Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


human slaloms
2000-12-11 @ 16:25:41

Ok, here it goes. I once won a prize for this story...

It was a most embarrassing story contest. *grin*

So, I'm a freshmen at NMSU. The campus is located in the Mesilla Valley in Southern New Mexico. The campus is huge, by land area the largest in the world, and it is ALL down hill. I was living at Alumni, residence hall at the top of the hill. My first class of the day was at the Ag. college. at the bottom of the hill, about a mile away.

Occasionally I would ride my bike down the hill, instead of walking. The campus was connected from end to end by a 30'wide sidewalk called the international mall. Now, this time of morning the mall was already fairly full of people, and I was in the habit of using the people as human slalom poles *grin*

Ok, so maybe you can guess what happened next. I'm in front of the women's residence center weaving in and out of the people.... Just as I pass this HUGE football player type of guy, he flicks his back pack out the way people do to adjust the way the strap is sitting on your shoulder. Well, when he did one of the straps swung out just far enough to loop around my handle bar, my right handle bar. suddenly the front wheel was at a perpendicular angle to my path, the momentum of my body propelled me up and over the handle bars, and for awhile I was flying. Then I landed on my hands and knees and proceeded to slide on my knees for a few feet before tumbling to a stop.

Now you might think my first thoughts would have been to check for broken bones, or see if I was seriously injured. Actually the first think I saw was the big football player type guy coming my way.

"Oh shit, he's going to beat the crap out of me!"

Actually the look that I mistook for anger on his face was actually concern. He ended up being a gently giant. Making sure I was able to walk, and even offering to walk me to the infirmary.

By this time the embarrassment had sunk in. I insisted I was ok, just had a skinned knee. Actually an area akin to a baseball on my right knee was missing several layers of flesh. He helped me up, I asked if he was ok, and apologized for my carelessness. Then I walked to my class, and proceeded to sit through it with a dripping, bleeding wound. What a dumb ass.

So, anyways, I feel guilty for not writing as of late. So hope you all enjoy.

Hey Mal, do you know of a software that will allow me to design fonts?

Love you all.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.