Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


A criminal in my own home.
2001-03-16 @ 12:45:14

Growing up gay I have always heard things that frightened me. Things that strike out at exactly who I am.

Today, I have a heaviness on my heart. I log on to read the morning news only to find that Texas, the state where I reside, has overturned a statute on homosexual activity once again. Just last Labor Day we thought the days of being persecuted for what two consenting adults do in their bedroom was over. Only two find out that yesterday, a state court of appeals overturned a lower courts ruling. Saying that indeed this states ban on homosexual activity IS legal. That police can barge into your residence and arrest you for being a participant in anal or oral intercourse, with a member of the same sex.

Then, this already dejected person reads on to find out that on this very same day Vermont's now republican controlled house has passed a bill outlawing same sex marriage. Granted the state's civil unions law has been left intact. A bill that itself defines marriage as being between a man and a woman in three separate places. The republicans feel a need to put a dog collar upon this countries most progressive example of human rights, in an effort to make it heel.

(AP news http://my.aol.com/news/news_story.psp?type=1&cat=0100&id=010316013312164)

And now to be faced with Shrub as our Commander and Chief makes me all that much more weary. In his presidency this man will likely have the opportunity to fill the seats of 3 Supreme Court Justices. Three Justices who will interpret the constitution to either protect my basic human rights or to deny them.

Which personality type do YOU think he is most likely to appoint?

The day is starting off on a melancholy tone, indeed.

Canada here I come.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.