Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


little crescents and slivers of silvery glassy, glitter
2001-07-08 @ 6:55 a.m.

I broke a mirror yesterday.

We were doing an exercise that was supposed to demonstrate to us what it is like to have a visual learning disability. Or rather a learning disability where the single you brain gets from your eyes gets turned around.

We were using a mirror in this exercise, and working in groups, having our desks pushed together in groups.

The mirror was sitting there spanning a slight gap between the desks. My mind was on other things.

On writing.

On drawing the tangle of plugs that came out of the socket in the wall near where my feet rested as we were supposed to be watching a video.

On being anywhere except where I actually was.

So, as I moved my desk back to get into position to continue watching the next section of the film I really was not thinking of the mirror laying there on our respective desks.

As I scooted back, the mirror hung there in the air, where my desk had once been supporting it, and then with terribly invisible speed it had slammed itself into the floor, landing flat on it's respective face. Shattering into pretty little crescents and slivers of silvery, glassy, glitter.

So, my first thought was not. . .

I'm so embarrassed.

Or, I can't believe I wasn't paying attention.

Or even why wasn't your mind on what it should have been?

No, my brain immediately took me back to the last time I had broken a mirror.

And with calculations barely lasting the split of a second I realized it was exactly just over 7 years ago. (I guess superstitions are more ingrained than we realize) Me and Joey had been moving out or our Freshmen year dormitory when the wall mounted dressing mirror that I was transporting to his vehicle, cracked and shattered into nice large pieces of gleaming mirror.

So, seven years ago.

Great.

JUST . . . great.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.