Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


FROGGER
Sunday, December 16, 2001 @ 9:51 a.m.

I went Ice skating for the first time in my life yesterday!

Me and my friend, who I think I have miss judged [but more on that later, or even another time], chose to partake of this experience at the posh Galleria Mall.

I had always heard things like; "It's just like rollerblading."

Now I'm fairly good at rollerblading, I used to be even better, but when I stepped on to that ice, I found the sensation more then a little unnerving. A completely different sensation from the sure footedness I feel on roller blades.

I Wanted Off!

So, it's one way on the rink, I managed one little loop around and then promptly grabbed the side railing near the exit gate.

I managed to talk myself into going around one more time.

I was getting the hang of it, kinda.

I was even beginning to kind of like it!

Buy my third loop I was all, "This really is similar to rollerblading."

It really is, it's just that the sensation of having nearly no resistance is well, kind of scary. I'm used to feeling the earth push back at me, and I guess at first the greatly reduced feeling of that force is what so unnerved me.

Ok, so just when I got the hang of it and was even beginning to do some little fancy turns and the like, ala rollerblading style, the 2nd Baptist church youth group showed up. Which in and of itself is fine, but the little kiddos didn't seem to understand the whole one way rule of the very busy skating rink.

They would hold onto the side railings and skate perpendicularly to the flow of the rest of the skaters towards the center railing.

It was all rather like the classic video game "FROGGER." Us, the one way skaters, being the snapping turtles on logs, and snakes, and other perilous creatures, that the little froggies (aka, Second Baptist children) had to watch out for, and yes, a few of the children went splat!

Now, I was getting the hang of the whole ice skating thing, but I still had NO concept of how to stop.

Those little froggies better be glad I was good at dodging.

I found my self humming the Frogger theme song for the rest of the evening, as I dodged the daring, it would seem brainless, little tikes.

I think I made one of them cry. I couldn't help it, the teacher in my came out, "Your going the WRONG way!!!" I growled during a near miss.

It was an adventure.

Love to you!

Yep, it's me. Sorry for the poor quality. The photo came out black, so I had to do some severe digital darkroom stuff. My friend also chopped off the skates. Hmmm... Kind of defeats the purpose of taking a photo of someone ice skating don't you think? Oh well, Then I got stuck in Corel Photo Paint and couldn't stop myself. Anyways.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.