Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


On the subject of Virga . . .
Friday, January the 18th, 2002 @ 6:59 a.m.

The following was taken from a guestbook entry from me to Peth.

Peth, you like corrugated sheet metal in interior design too!!!!! Oh my gosh! *Big ass grin* Do you like starting Sentences with �and?' I'm quite fond of that today I think.

And yes I still like Virga as a girls name, but I concede, Corazon, that I probably should give her some more mundane name to be called in public and by friends so the whole teasing issue won't be such a torment. Besides, with a name like Virga, maybe she will marry some dashingly handsome meteorologist.

And when she's just a little girl we can drive home to the deserts of Southern, New Mexico, on a lazy, too hot early July evening, and watch the storm black towering cumulus tease the sun parched plateaus with their release of rain that does not hit the ground.

And I'll stop the car, and we will watch and I'll point up and say,

"Do you see that? The rain that is falling from those clouds?"

And she will nod, and I'll continue,

"See how beautiful it is? See how it evaporates before it is hitting the ground?"

And I'll go on,

"That is Virga, that is what I named you after, one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen in this world."

And we will sit there sharing our silent moment, just taking it all in. And she will nod quietly once again absorbing it all, breathing the very essence of the moment in, because she will be one of those silent profound children, that knock your socks off with the things they do say because they just don't say much, but they are constantly observing and understand so very well how this world works and how the people in it love, and hate. When they do say things they are often little pearls of wisdom to be written down in journals, and remembered. Little things that when they are older, and they come home from college and when they come in to your bedroom in the morning and lay across your bed to talk about the world around them, and the things of life that all just seem so hopelessly complicated, just talking and talking in one big release. And when she is done, when I have finished listening to her every utterance I will say . . .

"Do you remember when you were a little girl . . . "

And in that moment I will reimpart the wisdom that she had back then to her, and suddenly this too crazy world that has maybe made her forget things she once knew, will make more since to her once again.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.