Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


High Priestess Virginia
Sunday, Jan. 20, 2002 @ 2:50 p.m.

I had so much fun grocery shopping yesterday.

I went berserk in the produce section and came home and made a vegetable beef soup. I"m not just talking beef, carrots, celery and onions here.

An ingredient list would look something like this.

yellow wax beans

purple wax beans

green beans

pearl onions

red Russian kale

zucchini and yellow squash

and the obligatory

Carrots, celery, and onions.

Beef stew meat

Beef stock

Pepper

Thyme

and freshly grated nutmeg

MMMM-mmmm good!

I ended my trip to my favorite store in the world with a diversionary trip to the cheese department, affectionately known to moi as "The Temple of Cheese."

On today's visit to the temple I would meet the High Priestess of Queso herself, Virginia.

As I approached the altar she readily offered me a nibble of Green's English Farmhouse Cheddar, the cheese that bites you back.

As the sharp, piquant flavors wafted over my pallet I must have had a look of enjoyment on my face.

For Virginia exclaimed that it was so nice to find another who was so into cheese. At that I found myself being whisked around the temple, where offering of Fiore D Sardegna, a delightfully flavorful sheep's milk cheese melted it's subtle, then robust aroma over my tongue, followed by an even more sublime shaving of Gouda Gold Aged Goat's cheese that released it's self upon my sinces.

After my grand tour other customers. . . err... supplicants began to give me jealous looks for monopolizing the High Priestess' time.

We bid our farewells, I can only hope she will be there the next time I visit the temple.

*******

As good as the visit to the temple was, it was still rivaled by a little find in the Health and beauty section, Badger brand Cinnamon Bay lip & body balm.

I tell you the stuff is inspired! The side of the tin is inscribed, "Try it, Use it, Never Lose it." The extra virgin olive oil and bees wax works miracles on my poor lips. And the aroma! Bay is quite nearly my favorite scent as it is, but when combined with the cinnamon, and hints of orange flower and cardamon for depth, the overall effect is . . . well hard to describe!

LOVE IT!

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.