Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


I've always wanted a Patron or two
Thursday, March the 7th, 2002 @ 6:13 a.m.

So, with the excitement of the upcoming visit from my parents and Corazon, I haven't been getting my 8-9 hours of sleep. *Yes I'm a total sleep slut, Peth, I can't believe I forgot to include it on my list of favorite things.*

As a result, I woke up this morning at my usual 4:30, without having my normal spring in my step. I got up, turned on the computer, saw that I had no new reading material here at d-land, and briefly pondered when my buddy list people picked up my habit of NOT updating. But, as I've said before, that's neither here nor there. Anyway, after turning on the �puter and realizing that I already have the stuff ready to go for my lessons today, I just wanted to go curl back up in bed for an hour, but then I herd the last little hiccup from my coffee machine, and new that those 2 � cups of Java, had my name on it. From that first sip, I was raring to go. All thoughts of going to lay down erased from my recent memory. And I found myself here. Writing. Something I've not been doing much lately.

Oh well, I'm a firm believer in writing when you have something to write about, not just writing to have written every day.

*Let's turn a page to the real story.*

So, when I started designing jewelry again, I was worried about how I'm going to finance my materials. I mean, I make good pay for a teacher, but I don't want to lock all of my income into jewelry making. I mean, it's not like I have much of a social life, but I want it to be an option, you know? Anyway, I'm rambling. How rare.

*wink to Corazon*

So, when I decided to go back to school I had thought that I might be able to put together a portfolio for benefactors kind of thing. That people would be able to look through it and then fund the project, then of course, after I had given birth to these enameled and guilt objects I'd have to give them to their new parents. *sad*

Something happened in the office the other day to make me think that this little idea will work great! They must of been talking about me, cause I didn't even have time to say hello before the following onslaught hit me.

Mademoiselle Nour: Maddy, WHEN are you going to bring in you design book?!

Mrs. Flywet: Yeah, I want to buy all my Christmas presents from you!

Together: We want to say we knew you before you were famous.

Mademoiselle Nour: Uh huh, someday when I'm flipping through magazines with my girlfriends and I stumble across someone wearing one of your designs, I want to be able to go on and on, about how I was one of your first customers. And flash my ring or pendant at them, I'll be all casual, oh-- yes-- Maddy . . . this pendant is one of his first designs. With that she acts out the little scence unfolding in her head for us, flashing an imaginary ring to us.

Mrs. Flywet: You better bring it in so we can start ordering.

Me: I'm not even taking my classes yet! I have some designs in my book, but there not particularly wearable pieces at the moment, I've been in a phase of art jewelry, unless you want an industrial diamond solitaire.

They give each other a knowing, sidelong glance, the sparkle of diamonds in their eyes, then turned and looked back at me, a smile/smirk on there face.

And at that moment I knew!

I knew, that I'm going to have some very willing benefactors for my designs.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.