Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Impromptu Dinner Theater
Sunday, Apr. 07, 2002 @ 9:11 a.m.

Yesterday was interesting, perhaps only to me, but isn't life like that usually?

No need to answer.

So after tutoring 2nd graders who can't read all morning, while dealing with itchy, watery, burning, eyes, ears, nose, and, throat; I went to one of my favorite Chinese places.

Normally I am anti buffet, but occasionally you run across a place that has a large enough clientele to keep the food fresh. And this place puts out a spread, relegating the sesame chicken, and sweet and sour pork to the nether regions of the buffet line. This place keeps pot stickers, and shar shar squid among other favorite delicacies, in ready supply.

So anyway, after making a glutton of myself, I went home to sleep, if I could, so I wouldn't have to deal with all the nasty allergy symptoms I listed above.

The pollen here is unbelievable! There are actually little drifts of yellow stuff against my fence.

Anyway, after the nap I decided to go pay rent, and just drive around a bit. I stopped by the garden on Mandel, but none of the witches were there. I could see the evidence of their work though. I was met with stands of scarlet bread seed poppies, and drifts of gorgeous lettuces.

I was on my way home contemplating knocking myself out with a swig of codeine cough syrup just so I wouldn't have to deal with the never ending twitch in my nose, or the fact that I've been relegated back to the ranks of one nostriled breathers. When Bruce called and asked me to go to dinner at Caf� Noches.

It sounded like a good plan to me. I was way in the mood for chips and salsa.

Our table was near the bar. The people at the bar were very dynamic and the people watching that we partook of ended up being more akin to watching really great impromptu dinner theater. I found myself wishing that Sooner was there to record all the goings on, as he seems to be so talented at that. Good lord, Monte was so popular. He was an extremely loud, red nosed drunk that just couldn't keep his hands off of the very pretty and young Rebecca. Rebecca seemed to pay him no mind as she blabbed on and on to her friend, (the friend who said fuck in place of every other word in her conversation) As she blabbed on and on, monte would lift the back of her shirt to gaze down her pants. It was all rather surreal. Then, Rebecca, on occasion would lean back and give Monte a peck on the lips. We just couldn't understand it. He was so obnoxious. We figured he must be rich and must leave like really big tips or something. Who knows. The owner loved him, the other people at the bar loved him, the bartender made him promise to call him tomorrow. We were just baffled. Did I mention the owner had black eyes like Willow's when she gets magiced out? He was scarey looking. Rebecca and her friend ended up leaving, at which point Monte noticed that one of them had left their phone behind, he jumped up out of the bar stool as if he was a sober young buck, and dashed out the door to try to flag them down, he came back in moments later looking a little sad. Evidently he hadn't caught her, a few moments later Rebecca reentered and gave Monte a big old thank you kiss. Again, I was so baffled.

After the dinner theater we went to our favorite book store. I bought a book on the history of pigments and dyes. It is so cool, and is giving me tons of the information type of reading that I have so been craving lately. I also bought a really cool book on being an amateur naturalist. It tells you things like what to feed an abandoned baby bird, and little creatures you can bring in to observe. I bet it will give me tons of ideas for things to do with the kids.

But, my find of the evening, in the used video section, was a copy of the 1986 Jim Henson masterpiece staring David Bowie, "Labyrinth" I was so very excited to find this, I love this movie! For years I have tried to buy a copy, but it has not been in production for years!

By the time I got home, some of the symptoms had subsided and I was able to drift off to sleep sometime soon there after while reading about the grinding of pigments, and how the Ancient Egyptians invented the first synthetic pigment called Egyptian blue.

I awoke this morning to have my two and half cups of Sumatran, and to find this really cool link to my page in German, I just think that is soooooooo cool! I wonder if the translating program really translates all that well.

Alright I'm off to clean, so I can not live in clutter for a day or so.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.