Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Does guano only refer to the shit of bats and sea birds? hmm, i guess the dutchmen's pipe and passion vines will appreciate this bounty of turds.
Saturday, Mar. 01, 2003 @ 5:56 p.m.

I've watched what I once thought was a large shrub in the patio next to me grow into a small tree in the 2 1/2 years since I moved into my apartment at 3535 Barberry lane. It's grown from around 8 foot to twice that height in this time. This year was the first year I've noticed the dark indigo colored berries it produces, although it must have fruited before as my terra-cotta pots, and flower beds are forested with it's seedlings. I've been cleaning up my patio today that separates my apartments back door from my covered parking area by a span of some 6 feet I'd say. I took a break to finish the last episode of Buffy season 3 and when I walked over and stood in the doorway I was greeted by the sound of what I thought was the beginning of a steady drizzle. Really it was a flock of tiny crested gold finchy birds stripping the blue berries from the small tree in the patio adjacent to mine. I marveled at their apparent skill, and the uncanny resemblance to the sound of rain the falling berries were making on the covered parking. I coughed and with that the flock scampered to the highest branches of the giant 4 story tall elm that lives in my patio. The thing is the sound of the drizzle didn't stop. Then I noticed all the dark blue splotches on my patio and covering the two trash sacks I had yet to take to the dumpster. Yes, yuck. The berries have apparently given the finches a case of the inky squirts. There is a span of 2 feet in the carport that is open to the ground below. Luckily it's not a parking spot. The ground there is nearly completely obscured from the deposits the little golden birdies have left behind. And yes it still sounds like it is raining outside. Bleh, gross.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.