Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


My week in review.
Saturday, March 22, 2003 @ 9:00 a.m.

OH, my! What with all the d-land server business going on, and me just being inspired to write when I couldn't get on the servers I haven't for awhile. I've got some tieing up of loose ends to do, which may be a first for me, as I'm just as prone not to tell the rest of the story or to go onto another as I am to finish it. So, here it goes.

Wednesday afternoon at 3:30 Sam and I met at my Dr's so I could get a blood test for HIV and Hepatitis C. Sam's been tested more then a couple of times since we started dating, and well, I haven't. In a long time. Like since college. Around 5 years ago. So yeah, I'm a product of the whole safer sex generation, and I've always practiced what I preached, and I guess it paid off, cause, thankfully, I'm negative for both diseases. I wasn't really worried, but still there is that nagging doubt down in you when you know you have had numerous sexual partners, no matter how 'safe' you have been. I can't say I was really wasting conscious time worrying over the issue, but still that little bit of nagging worry would creep into my brain late at night on occasion. My Dr. is actually a very respected Dr. here in Houston for working with HIV + and AIDS patients and has super fast connections, so that by Thursday at 3:15 I already new my results, none of that 2 weeks of waiting crap and horse sized needles you get down at the clinic, crap. So, yeah if you remember when I called to set up the appointment for last week I was confronted with the snickering receptionist but she was actually quiet nice to my face. Sam got their on time, and was being very supportive. My blood pressure was high and that was when the nurse began to take my fear more seriously. But still she was motherly and just very friendly, and had a additional calming affect upon me. Dr. Gardner came into talk to me and wanted to know if I knew what triggers my needle phobia and if I knew why I react to them the way I do. We talked and she asked me to lay down and to relax and for Sam to hold my hand and to stand near me. Then she left and was back in a bit. I had my head turned and my eyes closed and never looked at her or the needle, and this did MUCH to alleviate my tension. I didn't even panic. I focused on my breathing and she talked me step by step through what she was doing and never used the word needle. When it was time she just said your going to feel a tiny prick now (she was using a needle for babies) and really I didn't feel much at all! I breathed deeper, and turned my head even farther into Sam and I DIDN'T Panic and I felt proud of myself. I laid there for awhile and continued to breath, as my personal history is that I usually faint several minutes AFTER the blood is drawn. Sam kept holding me and whispering that he loved me, and holding my hand. I sat up and drank some water and really I felt JUST fine.


Today Sam and I have been dating for 6 months. I'm cooking Gang Keow Wan Goong (green curried prawns) for him this evening. However, this is all on standby notice, as it is also Lebanese mother's day. I'll defer to the mother and not push the issue, I mean she IS his mother. :)

I've taken to drinking my coffee with no sweetener. I'm not sure how long that will last.

I pulled out my camera to snap some pictures of my kids while we were doing some experiments, and discovered my camera has died. GRRRRR it functions, BUT I think what must be wrong is the little optical sensor inside has died. I'm sick over it. No more pictures in the diary for a while friends.

This entry by Marn had me in fits of laughter this morning. I should nominate it at diarist.net.

I'm trying to learn how to do mouse overs so that when your pointer goes over a link it will flash a quirky little message at you. I have not got it yet, however, I have figured out how to make quirky little messages appear to you down at the bottom of your browser where it tells you where a link is going to take you if you click it. The marn link up their does that. Look for 'queen of the queers' down at the bottom of your browser somewhere when your pointer is over the link.

Love to you.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.