Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Bar-B-Qued Madrigle
Sunday, March 30, 2003 @ 3:59 p.m.

I electrocuted myself last night.

How's that for an opening line? Anyway, I'll get around too the electrocution part of this story towards the end of this entry.

I took Jeff out to lunch yesterday at Fadi's Mediteranean Grill on Dunvale and Westheimer. It was not because he has recently celebrated another round trip around the sun. Nope, that was not the reason. It was a good time, with good food, and good company.

Jeff left and I started my laundry. For such a tiny pile it took a LOT of loads to get it done, and I forgot to put my top sheet in. :( It always seems like something escapes.

Habibi and I were going to go to dinner, but some of our friends called and wanted us to come play cards at a coffee house. So we went to Agora on Westheimer to meet them. We had a blast, even though the place had clouds of smoke like a 19th century opium den. The card game was one of Nabil's invention, and was full of skill and strategy. I'm so freekin hooked.

Sam was hungry, so we went to house of pies, and ate a very late dinner at 11. We were supposed to go dancing, but Sam had a huge sinus headache so we went back to my place . . . yeah. :) After a few visits to pleasure central, we took a shower and (here's the electrocuted part) when I got out, and Sam was still in the bathroom, I decided to fiddle with an antique lamp I had never actually plugged in.

Here, I'll just cut and paste from a recent conversation with Mal.

madrigle76: I electrocuted myself last night.

mal: what???

madrigle76: :-D

mal: not laughing. worried.

madrigle76: yeah, so I have this lamp,I inherited it from my uncle that passed actually, and I had never plugged it in, cause it is on the side of the bed I don't use. Well, it was 3 in the morning.

mal: oh geez

madrigle76: and I didn't have my glasses on, and well it was candle light, cause um, "hi!" Sam, was over.

mal: haha

madrigle76: we had just gotten out of the shower, again, and . . .

mal: oh no

madrigle76: (he was still in the bathroom.)

madrigle76: and I decided I was going to unwind the cord and plug this thing in behind the bed cause I wanted to read and he likes to sleep on the the side I usually sleep on where there is already a functioning lamp. So, (no glasses remember)

Mal: hehe

madrigle76: I go to plug it in, and get this tremendous zap.

Mal: i'm so scared of this story

madrigle76: and my hand goes rocketing away from the wall, and I let out this really weird sound that had Habibi bolting into the room from the bathroom, my naked hero.

Mal: hahahahahahahahahahahahha

madrigle76: So, um, at this point I still don't have my glasses on and am wondering how this has come about.

Mal: i mean, i can laugh because obviously you're okay, but my gosh!

madrigle76: Habibi looks at the cord, and then looks at me with a look of "What the hell were you thinking? The wires are completely exposed on the plug! Didn't you see it?

madrigle76: and I'm staring back at him, with a look that says "No, Hi! Do you SEE any glasses on this face?"

Mal: hahaha

Mal: how scary!

madrigle76: so, um yeah, then he hugged me and wouldn't let go, and I thought he was going to start crying, and then it sunk in what had just happened.

madrigle76: and well yeah, it was crazy and scary.

Mal: are you okay?

madrigle76: and the right side of my body felt really strange for a good long while, like my nerve endings were squirming around.

madrigle76: yeah, i'm fine.

Mal: honey that's scary

madrigle76: yeah, it really was.

And THAT is how we nearly had bar-b-qued, Madrigle.

Love to you.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.