Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Coconut Ice Cream
Friday, August 8, 2003 @ 4:12 p.m.

I started out the day intending to make banana ice cream. I had a cluster of those cute little manzano bananas that were way ripe, all black on the outside and perfect for cooking with, or so I thought. I started peeling them to mash them up and sadly they were just not fit. Well I wasn't going to let that little bump in the road stand between me and some homemade ice cream goodness. I ended up settling on the can of Mae Ploy coconut milk in the pantry as the basis of my recipe. The ingreidient that would dictate all others. This is what I came up with and I have to say, it's dreamy. Much more of what a coconut ice cream should be to me, then the stuff we used to make at the restaurant. All though that was nice too, in it's own right. Hope you enjoy.

  • 1 can Mae Ploy coconut milk. most other brands suck.
  • 1 pint heavy cream
  • 1 pint half and half
  • 1 quart of whole milk
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated fructose
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • Combine all ingredients, It's best to blend or sieve the coconut milk, as it coagulates, and the lumps will not be broken up by the ice cream paddle. Freeze in ice cream mixer. Ripen in freezer for at least 2 hours. Enjoy. NUMMY.

    1 comments so far

    guest book

    notes

    previous | next

    ASHES, ASHES
    WE ALL FALL DOWN

    yahoo messenger: James87106

    [ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

    This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

    � Madrigle, 2000-2007

    Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

    birth of stars
    Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

    older entries

    sticky note.
    (Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

    mispelled
    (Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

    The Finger Prints of God.
    (Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

    Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
    (Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

    It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
    (Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

    Madrigle's Gallery

    Cast and Crew

    Toot My Own Horn

    Once and Future favorite tunes

    www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.