Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


I promise I was sober.
Tuesday, September 2, 2003 @ 7:03 p.m.

I just had a full fledged premonition. My premonitions are never about anything serious. When I was young they were about people and ALWAYS at the Dr's office. As in I'd be sitting there waiting for my appointment, for either a ear ache or a sinus infection take your pick, and some obscure person that I hardly knew would pop in my head, then a couple of minutes later they would walk in the office. I use to play it as a game with myself to keep myself amused.

So, just now I'm getting out of the shower and turn the water off, cold first then hot, cause I hate getting splashed with shocking cold water and would rather get all steamy. So then I reach for the hot water knob and turn it off. Step out and towel off, enjoying the softness of my Egyptian cotton towels ($7 marshals) Walk into the bedroom put on my boxers, when I realize the water is still running. Yeah, it took me that long. So I go back in determine it's the hot and twist it off, more whereupon it turns on to nearly full force so I reverse my turns and it comes on even stronger. So I turn in the off direction again and it returns to it's nearly full force flow. I twist and twist and think to myself that I better quit or I'll break the pipe. I try the opposite direction one more time, no luck and I turn it back to the nearly full force flow of the once off position, giving it an extra tightening. So I'm standing there with a flow of hot water steaming up my bathroom and my apartment, and decide this warrants after hours maintenance, I call and they say they will be right over. This is when the premonition kicks in. I tell myself, "they are going to get here and just turn the knob and turn the flow off." So I go back in the bathroom try turning it off in all directions, twisting so hard that I could literally hear my father in my ear saying "if you force it you'll break it" So I stop and admit to myself that it's really broken so the maintenance guy arrives and what does he do?

Yep.

His big handsome ebony self walks in and twists the knob in the off direction, cutting the flow of water firmly off.

I was embarrassed and perturbed to say the least. I'm not sure if he was just coddling my ego or what but he said there was most likely a washer on the inside that needs to be replaced and they would do it in the morning.

I feel like a fumbling sot.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.