Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Yay, I'm still eligible for the gay discount!
Sunday, Jan. 08, 2006 @ 7:34 p.m.

A promising gallery contact was reestablished today. This momentum can't continue without me buying in fully. Things I must do:
Finalize my portfolio to 10 of my best pieces. Sad I don't have a good enough image of 'the approaching night' to include and no images at all of 'russet modulation.' At any rate, I have some strong pieces to be included. Images will be printed, files made to take to the photo lab to have slides made. Must start submitting to juried shows. I've not been working on the marketing side of things at ALL and I'm sorely behind. Here I am, opportunity at my feet, and all I have to my name is my talent and a body of work. Thank god for the scholarships to the Glassell. Those, at least, are something to put on the resume. Those and the mural commissions. I'm worried my artist's statement are wordy and superfluous my biography painfully short. But hell, I'm not looking to start with a one man show. I just want representation from a gallery with broad enough connections to get myself out there. And everything points to this being THE gallery.

***

So, I was at Best Buy to purchase a tripod so I could try to get some pictures of some of my pieces that have not yet photographed well. They only had three choices. The camera shop I frequent was closed and I really wanted to get this done today. The supposedly top of the line one they had was a piece of crap. One of the adjustment knobs literally came off in my hands as it was only crimped in place and not threaded. Piece of shit. I thought it was going to be a tripodless Sunday so I went to look at other parts of the store and found some photo paper for my printer in a very large size, but could not for the life of me find the price. I knew it would be more then I would want to spend today but still was curious. Anyways, a rather cute guy came to help me at that point. He ended up being the manager and offered to knock 20% off the price of the paper and then winked at me! I kid you knot. It's been a VERY long time since I've gotten the gay discount. I was even thinking about it the other day and lamenting that my gay discount days must be over and done with. Yay! I guess I've still got it.

I ended up getting their mid-level tripod but not the paper. The mid-level tripods pieces are all threaded in place and it was 30 bucks cheaper then I was expecting to spend. Yay. I missed the window for photographing my stuff in the shadow of my building though. Oh well, another evening, another time.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.