Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Ms. Madrigal's vice
Saturday, Feb. 04, 2006 @ 8:21 p.m.

Sometimes I'm much to theatrical for my own good.

Just now I was letting the dogs out into the courtyard, when this sudden, how should I put it, we will call it a Musical Moment came over me. I suddenly envisioned the rest of the neighbors doors opening simultaneously with my own, the menagerie that we are, and breaking out into a choreographed song and dance number, Buffy the musical episode, style.

There I was, on my back stoop, the dogs attending to their business belting out "Gimme, Gimme, Gimme a man after midnight!" Complete with the Erasure introduction, swiped from "Money, Money, Money!" Except, none of the neighbors doors opened, and I only had a bit of a spring in my step, and no real choreography to speak of. Then a neighbors door DID open, and I scampered inside, the dogs hot on my heels.

Sometimes I wish it was possible to break out into synchronized song and dance. What pizzaz life would have, even the most mundane tasks, paying bills, buying groceries, would all benefit from a little song and dance ditty.

Maybe this should have been in the 5 weird things I do entry.

***

so, one of my neighbors across the courtyard from me has a sling hanging from his second story ceiling. I swear! He doesn't even have a curtain over that window. Evidently he's also a exhibitionist. Hell, this might force me to be a voyeur. Go ahead. Twist my arm.

***

If I win the powerball tonight, I'm buying this complex and transforming it into my own personal 28 Barberry lane. I'm building big tall adobe walls around the entire complex of structures. The central courtyards will be full of raised bed vegetable gardens. The front courtyards will be themed. There will be the rose garden of course, and the Frida Kahlo courtyard, and a Bosque courtyard, with a small babbling, riverstone-bottom creek of a water feature out by the two ancient cottonwoods on the property. The new, and a select few of the old residents, will have a quiet and peaceful existence here. We will often dine together, and I'll be their quiet ,but rather friendly, benefactor. Except I'll be a guy, and not the lovely Anna Madrigal of the original 28 Barberry Lane.

***

I do believe it�s time for another glass of wine. Sometimes I wish I had the luxury of the real Ms. Madrigal�s vice, growing out behind the oleanders.

there are lovely moments where I'm drunk on my own lovely upwellings of joy. I wish I could sustain those. Much love to you.

3 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.