Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Chopstix, Albuquerque NM
Sunday, Feb. 05, 2006 @ 8:48 p.m.

I’m sitting here at, what has turned out to be, one of the only culinary gems in the entire Albuquerque area, as of yet. (Give me time, I’ve only been here six months and I’ve been cooking a lot at home) While it’s name is unimpressive, the food is. Chopstix turns out what I’m sure is some of the finest Chinese food in all of the U.S. It’s just a hunch, but I’m fairly confidant of myself. Chopstix, (sic) at the corner of San Pedro and Lomas turns out some of the best food I’ve ever had the pleasure of consuming. Period. And certainly, without question, the most authentic Chinese food I’ve ever tasted. It seems that everything is absolutely uncompromising, and unamericanized. Every attention to detail is assured. Even the bean sprouts have been carefully scrutinized. Their little dangling root ends trimmed, the seed leaves removed, only the most succulent middle section being used. So yeah, I’m a huge fan of this little Chinese restaurant. Looks like I’ve found some culinary heroin in Albuquerque after all.

weird.

I just had a random man sit down and join me for dinner. A Mr. Greg Holcomb. I’m a dumb ass. He was very pleasant and we talked for 30 minutes or so. Ok, so he did most of the talking and talked over me most of the times that I tried opening my mouth to share. But yeah, he was handsome, but something smacked of strangeness about him. At one point he started speaking what sounded like flawless German, and at another what seemed equally flawless French. Then acted shocked that I knew neither. I mean I wish I did, but how uncommon is it for the typical American guy to be monolingual. I laughed and said I could order Thai food in Thai, and know enough Spanish to get myself into trouble. I’m still just shaking my head from it all. And most of me is sitting here genuinely hoping that I do see him again. How strange is that, this man approaches me, seeing me type away here. Wanted to know if I was watching ‘the game’ I giggled a “no.” in response. We waxed about the fantastic food here, I shared my exquisite Dan Dan noodles with him. Then as quick as he appeared, he was gone. We shook hands. Exchanged names. Chuckled that we would see each other at Chopstix again. (Evidently he saw me here with my family yesterday) I was a hair’s width away from giving him my number. But something just told me to be hesitant. He seemed just slightly unsteady, like in a sanity sort of sense. Did I mention he was handsome, very handsome? Yeah. Think with your brain Madrigle, not your nether regions.

Yay, now the owner of Chopstix and I know each other on a first name basis. This is the kind of place I’d love to work in the kitchen at. We talked about the menu, and her efforts to make things as authentic as possible. The various ingredients she imports herself directly from China. The curious way true Szechuan peppers give a pleasing numbness to your mouth. I am hoping we can become solid friends. Her cooking knowledge is soooooooooooo very attractive to me.

4 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.