Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


morning, 2-23-06
Thursday, Feb. 23, 2006 @ 7:56 a.m.

hmmm. words just won't come.

Painting. The studies for the central panel are coming along grandly. The white zips at their core are achieving the blinding shimmer the I had hoped I would be able to achieve. My flirtation with white is becoming a absolute love affair. Texturally I'm reallying more on natural puddling to occur and the use of rubbing alcohol to punch holes in thin glazes to allow a clearer view of the layers below. I'm most happy with this. It seems to produce the most atmospheric layers of pigment. Creating lacy nets of color to be layered upon each other. Also, in these, I've been disciplined about brushing on clear layers of polymer medium between layers of pigment. In actual texture, these are calmer then the other two panels, but visually the stacked layers of pigment, seperaed by clear layers of medium, have increased the depth greatly.

At first I found the smaller size, 30 by 40 inches, to be limiting and frustrating to work with. My large canvases of the past, 4 by 5 foot, 3 by 5 foot, 4 by 6 foot allow large sweeping strokes, requiring your whole body to become involved in the simple gesture of spreading paint. I don't know, these smaller sizes though, they are growing on me. Also, I can't help thinking that they would be more appealing to the tipical collector or casual art buyer, and therefor, more likely to garner me gallery representation? I don't know. Once I get this central panel completed. The one that is going to be to big to even prop upright within my own studio, once I get it done I'm going to convince myself to complete atleast 10 pieces in a more manageable size, and I'm going to base them around white. Oh don't get me wrong, they are still going to be absolutely vivid with color. Many quiet astonishingly vivid colors can trick the eye into thinking they are white upon first glance.

Hugs.

1 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.