Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


O'keefe and Frida
Tuesday, Jun. 06, 2006 @ 5:02 p.m.

I think I'm on art overload. I keep watching "Frida", visually one of my very favorite movies. Hell, one of my favorites hands down. Yesterday, I went to have breakfast at the O'keefe Museum in Santa Fe with Mom and Dad for my birthday. It was crazy amazing. I don't know that I've ever cried as a responce to art, but there I was in the galleries of the museum with tears streaking down my face. I was shocked at the passionate connection to these very intimate pieces of O'keefe's I felt. As a child, O'keefe was my hands down favorite, and has remained near and dear to my artistic heart. I nearly fainted when I found out we just happened to be there on a day when the research center would be opened for a guided tour to the first 20 that signed up. I wasn't that interested at first but nearly trampled several near by museum goers when the lady mentioned that we would have a rare glimpse at O'keefe's ACTUAL working materials. I was inches from her brushes, I was astonished by her color chips, swatches of paint on paperboard that she carefully crafted color formulations for in preperation for pieces. I so desperately wanted to reach out and touch her brushes if only for a second. Hoping to gleam some esoteric painting knowledge from these objects that had actually been grasped by her own hands. There was no touching, a part of me whimpered as each drawer of objects was closed, hidden from view, and gasped in anticipation as a new drawer begain to open. I asked many, many, questions the other lucky 19 people wishing I would just shut the hell up, i'm sure.

Anyway, these two days, O'keefe and Frida, they haven't left me inspired. But I can feel my batteries being charged, nearly full up. I'll be raring to go soon enough.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.