Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Meet Bailey Red-Belly.
Friday, Jun. 30, 2006 @ 8:47 a.m.

So, I suppose it's time I introduce Bailey Red-Belly to you all. He's getting really well adjusted, knows his step ups, knows what scritchy-scritchy means, and responds to his name, all in a week.

Bailey Red-belly

He's such a handsome little guy! The picture doesn't really do his orange vest justice, in the right light, it's more of a safety orange, and his rump is that lovely color of crayon, sea foam green, with glistening opalescence and modulations to yellows. His grey areas are very warm, and flushed with orange. Except the grey on his wings, wich is cooler, and scalloped on the feather edges with more of jade green. Very beautiful. Nigella's grey was a pure dove grey. His personality is getting more and more outgoing.

Bailey Red-belly

He's leaving his silent phase behind and starting to make his pleasant little squeaks and cheeps. He's very intent on listening to what I'm saying. Red-Belly boys are often great little talkers. No pressure. :P

I have to tell you, I was really worried at first. I took some really hard bites, in those first step-up training sessions. Now, he's really coming around to the idea of me as someone to have fun with, rather then try to remove a knuckle from.

He adores his pellets (just a small part of his diet) None of my other birds have ever relished pellets the way he seems too. Nigella was a voracious fruit, veggie and birdie bread eater. He's more like, "Yeah, these bits of rabbit food are fun to toss around, WHERE are my pellets!" Ok, so that's not entirely accurate he does eat his fruits and veggies, seems to like veggies better, he just doesn't dive into them with reckless abandon.

Yay, I'm in the presence of a parrot again!

You can read more about parrots in general at Old World Aviaries, the MAP certified aviary that I have the wonderful good fortune of
getting both Nigella Red-Belly, and Bailey from.

Bailey Red-belly


3 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.