Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


eggs on toast . . .
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008 @ 10:18 a.m.

I think I may have just had my favorite breakfast in a good long time.

2 over-easy eggs a slice of Swiss cheese, and ham all sandwiched between 2 slices of toasted rye. That's right my favorite breakfast is a sandwich. Good grief it was perfect though! yum. Manny's on Central Avenue in Albuquerque, NM makes some great home cooked meals. It's VERY simple fare. A diner with a New Mexico twist, which basically just means that red or green chili is available with most items or already present in them. At least, that is the case here. Now Mannie's is by no means a great restaurant, but it IS the kind of place I come for simple, uncomplicated, I know what I'm going to get, sustenance. I think the reason this unassuming sandwich has rocketed itself to the forefront of my favorites list is because one of my favorite things that my mom used to make for breakfast was eggs-on-toast. mmm.

The thermometer is actually supposed to climb over freezing today. To say it's been cold is putting it mildly. The wind chills been down around 9-12 degrees fahrenheit regularly before noon this past week. I've realized my body handles the humidity of the gulf coast better then, what can be, the dry, biting, cold of central New Mexico.

I want to achieve flow while painting today, that point at which all self awareness dissolves and all that is left is the activity you have immersed yourself in. In my case painting. I didn't know that state of being had a name till this week. I was listening to some science podcast and they were talking about einstien and how he thought in pictures not in words and how he could slip into 'flow' to loose all self awareness and only be thinking about what he was visualizing and how our lack of visual thinking, specifically in mathematics, is going to hold us back. (humans) That in the case of young children we should be taught to 'see' math problems. To actually visualize two sets joining together for addition and so on, in the hopes that we can one day produce another of these visual thinkers in mathematics.

I was trying to to do it the othernight to think without any words. Trying to visualize soaring through the Orion nebula on my computer screen to be enveloped by it all and not to use any words, only to think it. It's damned hard. There was one split second where I thought I had achieved it and then it was gone. I'm thinking it must be like meditating in a way. As in you have to do it daily to develop the discipline. Or maybe it's different entirely and not everyone can think without words? Who knows. The idea fascinates me though.

I'm going to go paint. Or pretend too.

Hugs.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.