Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Obama has my vote.
Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2008 @ 5:20 p.m.

Ok. I so know that you have been biting your nails and sitting on the edge of your seat waiting for my presidential endorsement, so here it is without further ado.

I'll be voting for Obama in the primary next Tuesday. Hillary just seems way to enmeshed with the old guard and I think it will be business as usual in Washington with her running things.

I'm still hoping Obama will clarify his message. But what I do like about him is that he seems like he will shake things up and really get the ball moving for some positive changes. I like what I'm hearing but things are still a bit to vague for my liking. I wrote the following entry about Obama after watching a documentary on Sargent Shriver, Sunday. I promise it gets to Obama, eventually. I only hope that Obama has his own Shriver whispering in his ear encouraging him to do what's right.

I was watching Globe Trekker's Shapiro show us around Washington D.C. When I realized that her job is one that I think I would really enjoy.

I also realized today that being a Peace Corp Volunteer is something I really wish people would have told me about when I was young. I resolved to start talking about it to my nieces and nephews now as they are getting ready to make those same decisions. Hell, I may even check into volunteering for myself!

J.F.K wanted to increase funding to the Peace Corp so that one million Americans would have the experience of living in Latin America, Africa, and Asia, while affecting real change there . . . and back home upon their return. J.F.K. said in a conversation with Shriver, � . . . then, when these young people get back, we will have the constituency for a foreign policy in this country that will really matter.� (That's from memory, fairly accurate to what he said if I remember right.) Then, well, that awful day in Dallas, and Johnson didn't follow through and to date some 200,000 Americans have served abroad to affect change. Two Hundred Thousand. A pittance to JFK's and Shriver's vision. I just think it's really poignant and can't help wondering what our standing around the world would be now if his policy of a million within 10 years had been followed? I can't help but think that our insulatory attitude when traveling and ethno-superiority complex would be in a much better place. In the 45 years or so since J.F.K voiced his vision for the Peace Corp between 4 and 10 million Americans could have experienced another culture on the ground level and come face to face with the fact that our language is not superior, or culture is not superior, we are not superior, but fortunate. We are blessed and fortunate, but NOT better.

I have to say, Obama is the first candidate I've felt inspired by. I had faith in Bill Clinton that HE would bring change, but the failure of don't ask don't tell sullied him for me (regardless, he's still my favorite president to date) But, inspired is a wholly new emotion for me when it comes to candidates. I'm sensing momentum around Obama. I feel that he has the BEST chance of leading us, and inspiring us. His win yesterday in South Carolina solidified my support for him even further. I really didn't think a Black man would be able to win in a Old South state. Gratefully, I was wrong. The last bastions of doubt of his electability have been knocked down in my mind.

!Viva Obama!

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.