Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Martha Green Vespas
Saturday, Apr. 13, 2002 @ 9:01 p.m.

So, I was talking to my parents while I was grocery shopping. I nearly always do. People look at me like I'm crazy till they notice the tiny little hands free cell phone bud hanging out of my ear.

Anyway, I have to give a little bit of background. My dad hates, HATES, do you understand, hates motorcycles of any type. He basically thinks the people who ride them are organ donors on the short list to donation.

So, given that fact, I was completely surprised, COMPLETELY, when off the top of my head I said, "You know, I would really like a Vespa scooter to get around the neighborhood on."

My dad comes back with, "You know, I always wanted one of those when I was young, they were expensive even back then."

Once I picked up my jaw I replied "YOU like Vespas?"

"Oh yeah, I always thought they were neat."

We have very transient conversations so at this point me and mom jump in with some cross stitch stuff. Personally I can't stand cross stitch, but she still asks me for advice. :)

We talked about the Iris blooming in there yard, and how well the rose called "fairy" is doing this year.

So, a good 20 minutes later my dad dropped the bomb shell. "You know, Jerry has a good 20 or 30 vintage Vespa's in his yard. I'll see if he can get one running for you."

Yes my jaw dropped again.

"Are you kidding? REALLY?"

"Yeah, he's not doing anything with them."

I"m like, "DAD, I'm really serious about this, I really would like one."

"I know, I'll see what we can do.

So, let me give you some more background.

Jerry is probably my Dad's best friend. They worked together for years at the power company. Jerry restores vintage vehicles as a hobby and to supplement his income. Thus the stack of Vespas.

Sadly, Jerry is dying of kidney cancer that has metastasized throughout much of his body. He is single and his parents are in their 90's, so my dad has been the one who is running Jerry to the Doctors sitting in the hospitals when he is in surgery, all those things your family would normally do for you if they are able.

Some of my earliest memories are of visiting dad and Jerry at the power company. It always seemed to be near the ice machine that we would talk.

Hmmm....

Sad.

My dad ended the conversation with, "I always liked the light green ones."

Me, "Oh yeah? Like a Martha green?" *me very excited*

Dad, "Yeah, real pretty."

P.S. Did I mention how excited this has me?

I so want a Vespa to zip around the neighborhood on!

I told my mom she could get me a Barrett and a red and white striped shirt for Christmas so I can look like this Parisian stereotype I have in my head.

Love you all!

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.