Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


lilypons
2001-03-14 @ 00:42:28

Today me and the parents went to Lilypons Nursery.

In the catalog it looks absolutely beautiful. It is one of those nurseries that we have seen mentioned in gardening magazines for years. Needless to say we were greatly anticipating this visit, as it has been built up in our minds as this grand place.

We drove for an hour out west of Houston to get to Lilypons so I guess this served to heighten my anticipation.

I was expecting this grand palatial place, perhaps an old grand southern house with weeping willows around the ponds, and live oaks lining the avenue up to the entrance.

Instead we were greeted with chain-link and trailers.

It just didn't fit into my vision.

Then the ponds were poorly installed. their edges were showing, and the plants seemed to be poorly planted.

An air of untidiness was entrenched in the place.

The prices were high, even for a scarce product they seemed unnecessarily so.

We left in disappointment. Making excuses for this institution, for that is how it is portrayed in magazines, as we left. Saying maybe there business is primarily mail-order and that was why the nursery was in the state that it was.

As we drove back down I-10 towards home we noticed billboards for another water garden nursery called Nelson's. After the day's first experiences we were not really sure if we should stop or not.

I'm so glad that we did.

Nelson's was the nursery we were expecting. It was so beautifully landscaped. The plants were of very high quality and the garden art was some of the best I have seen for the price range it represented. The plants were gorgeous, and almost half the price of what Lilypons was charging. They also had a great assortment of hard to find plants and vegetables. I got some great tomatoes. Varieties I have only read about. I can't wait to have a mixed tomato salad this summer:)

Mmmm... I am missing Jet so much as of late. He called this evening from a bookstore in Toronto. It was so the perfect moment to hear his voice. I appreciate the friendship we have developed so much. Sometimes I feel so patient about the whole thing, and other times I just want to rush headlong in abandoning all restraints. I just feel so frantic to see him and be with him at times . . . ok, that's a lie :) I feel that way at least a dozen times a day.

Love to all.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.