Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Shop talk
2001-03-17 @ 22:28:02

Today I danced a dance.

At my favorite nursery, I politely inquired about a suitable vine for a filtered sun/part shade location.

Terry's eyes twinkled, "We have many for you to choose from. Come out back and let me show you what I think will work best." First she showed me a beautiful white autumn clematis. She said it would appreciate the coolness of a shadier location. I've always heard that clematis like their heads in the sun, and their feet in the shade, I just never figured that they would like to grow in this, very hot, part of the country. I commented about these facts to her, and I could see her inwardly nodding to herself. She went on to show me a pandora vine, and a Mexican flame vine, but now compared to the simplicity of the white clematis, and none or the other choices proved to be scented. A characteristic that is coming into play more and more on my patio garden.

I commented on the Huercherca (coral bells), saying I had never seen such a vividly purple leaf on one. I thought it was the cultivar palace purple. It turned out to be a delightful new cultivar called �Can Can'. Its leaves are distinctly for fushia then the plum of palace purple. She silently nodded at my use of it's proper name. At that moment I think we both realized we were both speaking the same language, dancing the same dance.

She began loading my tray up with plants, telling me to "Just let me know how they do in your garden." I love getting things for free.

She confided to me that it was fun to meet someone else who was so interested in gardening. I swear she nearly giggled with delight when I said I prefer to fertilize with cotton seed meal. If either of us would have been straight I think what we would have been doing would be considered flirting. :) We talked of Chinese lanterns, fox gloves and Iris. She explained to me how one can identify the difference between Louisiana and Japanese Iris. (Japanese Iris have a more distinctly lance shaped leaf)

I lingered and talked, she pointed me in the direction of a great source for organic amendments for my garden. Houston seems to be very behind on the organic gardening scene.

When I got home I planted my new little shade garden. Delicately tying the Autumn Clematis to it's trellis, flanking it with a yellow Fox Glove, and a raspberry colored one called "Spanish Peaks" In front I put a little hollyhock, she didn't know what it was, I suggested that it was probable �Alcea Rosea Zabrena', she smiled again and agreed. I think I will put the Chinese lantern in front, but I'm not sure yet, on the other side, I planted a little grouping of the Iceland poppies she was so kind to give me.

The planter box dad made for me looks lovely with it's two ivy leafed geraniums, yellow pear tomato, basil, and calendula.

My little patio is becoming quite the pocket garden. I cant wait for the passion vines and roses to begin blooming.

Next week I'm going to take some Anasazi beans to Terry. My family has been growing them for years. They actually came out of a cliff dwelling in New Mexico. I know she will appreciate them.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.