Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Monet, Renoir, and the impressionist landscape.
2001-03-18 @ 17:18:31

I ponder many things.

As of late the thought that keeps popping into my head it to go buy paints.

Acrylic?

Oil?

Tempera?

My mind has not decided.

Friday, the 16th day of March, 2001

That is the day that marks the awakening of a new artistic vision within myself.

That is the day I saw works by such masters as Monet, Renoir, Silbey, Jean Baptiste Carot, Pissaro, Gauguin, and Van Gogh.

Never have I been so moved by artistic vision.

The impressions of the world that they left behind, seem so full of character and merit. I am at once inspired, and dejected.

Inspired to try new subject areas.

Buildings . . .

Paths . . .

Gardens . . .

and everyday objects.

Inspired to try new color combinations. I have NEVER seen such soft colors vibrate with the intensity of Jewel tones as I witnessed in Monet's works. I find his grain stack, or hay stack series to be of particular importance. Because of his VERY free use of color to represent otherwise neutral colored objects.

Dejected because I feel that some of my previous subject areas seem so lacking now. My Exploded views of leaves, flowers and twigs seem so mundane. Not really works, but at best excercises in technique.

I also feel somewhat validated, in more then one way.

Validated in my unorthodox use of color. Choosing the colors that "I" want to use for a subject. I witnessed first hand the use of blues, purples, and greys flecked with other colors to represent the black of shadow.

Validated in my use of sloppy strokes, that in a mishmash of other strokes come together to represent straight lines and form.

But I think the overall feeling I came away with was limitation.

One of the things that I appreciated the most was the use of thick brush strokes of paint, by Van Gogh, and to a lesser degree, Monet; to achieve a subtle dimensionality.

I feel limited because this use of a medium to achieve actual physical dimensionality is denied to me as a artist who uses dry pastels.

I have always rejected paints as a medium.

My old art teacher tried desperately to inspire me to embrace them with no luck.

I think I produced a total of two works in my 40 slide portfolio using oil or acrylic paints.

My lack of patience denied me the use of a great medium.

I was to impatient to let the layers of paint dry so that I might add other colors on top, building visual interest with each layer. This is something that is quick and easy to do with dry pastels.

Payday is tomorrow.

It is going to be a difficult thing to resist this plaintive urge to go buy paints.

I wonder if I could just buy, red, blue, and yellow artist pigments and mix my own shades, with some medium to stretch the pigments, and some white and black to produce tints and hues. It just might be worth trying.

Once again I am feeling a horrible need to create and release.

To put my emotions and ideas down on canvas through the subtle use of color, shape, and form.

Mrs. Witt would be so very proud.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.