Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Tanned
Saturday, May the 5th, 2001 @ 6:13 p.m.

Um, I hate waking up with my face in a wet spot.

Um, yeah, sorry Jet, I guess you might as well know I�m a drooler on occasion.

So, this morning I wake up with my face in a particularly wet spot.

My brain was freaking wanting to know why the hell I had left the alarm set for 5 on a Saturday, I guess not realizing yet that yes indeed, I did have to go to work on Saturday. Several of my after school science club kids had projects that they were entering, and for some reason I was needed there promptly at 7:45, some reason that I�m still not to clear on. Oh well, I still made it to the garden by 10.

I was still laying with my face in the wet spot, reveling in the fact that I had two nights worth of consecutive death sleeps when I began to try to move myself out of bed. Wishing that my limbs didn�t feel so heavy. Eyes still shut and stumbling over who knows what on my bedroom floor I made it to the restroom where I began to brush my teeth. Often times I don�t open my eyes for the first few minutes, odd that I�m bestowed with an occasional gift of being able to locate things without having to actually open my eyes. So, I�m halfway through brushing my teeth when my eyes manage to open of their own volition. If it would have been up to me I don�t think they ever should have opened and I should have rolled back into bed to continue my slumber.

My eyes open . . .

For a split second I wondered who that guy in the mirror was.

Who the hell that tanned guy, with the rumpled bed head was, and what he was doing watching me brush my teeth.

Tanned.

That�s a foreign concept to this white boy.

My mom tans.

My brother bronzes.

Hmmmm.... Sis and Dad, well I guess I�ve just never paid attention to what their melanin does.

But me? No, I don�t tan.

I fry, burn, then peel, only to reveal a nice fresh layer of white skin.

So, you can understand my confusion when I saw this bronze faced guy staring back at me.

I guess all the repeated exposure I�ve had over the last couple of weeks, working in the garden, um planting in the garden, turning compost piles in the garden, um did I mention working in the garden, has been gentle enough to actually darken me up.

Actually I kinda like it.

Kind of like the new look.

I feel like I have a new hair color or something.

Anyways, I spent several hours in the garden today, and oh yeah I�m going to the garden tomorrow, and well you know you just have to do something fun after work on Monday, cause uhg it WAS a Monday right? So um, yeah I�ll go to the garden on Monday too.

As a result my soul is happier, and my skin is darker.

It�s a good thing. Well the soul being happier is a good thing for sure, I�ve already got plans to go buy a big floppy straw hat, I�m thinking I�ll need a cool silk scarf too ;) I�m thinking I�ll go for the look of those two crazycool Aunts on practical magic.

This boy, and occasional queen likes his pretty things.

Love to you all.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.