Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


lactic ambrosia
Monday, Sept. 10, 2001 @ 7:39 p.m.

Before I go on, I just have to say that really, I have been meaning not to write so much about food.

I'm trying to change my whole mind set.

I mean it will never really fully be realized, but at least maybe I can transform my relationship with food from that of humping rabbits, to that of respected best friends, then I will be happy.

That being said . . .

I just bit into a piece of lactic ambrosia. ( I know, not the most picturesque descriptor, but hey I kinda like the word lactic.)

Oh yes, and I must do this before I go on with the lactic ambrosia thread. Note to self. Remember you set down to write about analyzing others.

Back to the ambrosia, so last week at central market I was delighted to see that they make their own fresh mozzarella.

Yep sitting there in the temple of cheese, are nice little containers of freshly packed in whey balls of mozzarella cheese.

Now in and of itself, mozzarella is really not that tasty of a cheese. But it's kind of like tofu, in the fact that it immediately picks up the flavors of what ever you happen to put with it.

But before I get to the what I put with it part, pardon a flashback a la Sophia, Golden Girls Style.

Picture it. I was a young boy of 12, or there abouts, watching my favorite Saturday morning T.V. show.

Aha, The Frugal Gourmet.

So yeah anyway, the day's program was on cheese, and I stood there glued to the tellie, dust rag in one hand, as I was supposed to be helping Mom with her annual, errr weekly spring cleaning.

But really I was just mostly standing and watching as any self respecting 12 year old does.

Anyways, he went on and on, and I was totally mesmerized by the whole process of cheese making as they visited some wonderful cheese making place somewhere.

I watched with amazement as he began to heat two quarts of skim milk in a sauce pan to precisely 180 degrees, then let it cool, and added some vinegar to make it curdle, and separate the curds from the ways, then you put the solids in cheese cloth, and let them drip for a day or two in the fridge. Depending on how long you let it sit you end up with ricotta or Mozzarella.

Needless to say that morning when my mom popped in to see how the dusting was going she found her son making ricotta instead of dusting.

But really, I know she appreciated it.

Cause now she just remembers me making the cheese, and not the fact that I totally jipped her of a Saturday morning's worth of cleaning.

So anyways, back to what I put with it.

I halved a couple of pints of fresh cherry tomatoes. And chipped up the lovely soft yet resilient fresh mozzarella, and tossed the lot with my best olive oil and my reserve balsamic vinegar. Then I garnished the lot with a thread thin chiffonad of fresh basil and a sprinkling of kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper. It was a picture I swear.

It was FANTASTIC with a nice glass of Pinot Grigio, and a couple of Rye Krisps. Mmmmmmm.

Ok, so now I don't feel like writing about how I analyze others.

I'm just glad I wrote.

Love you guys.

P.S. I'm still working some bugs out of the computer.

But I'll be back on aol IM soon.

HUGS!!!!!

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.