Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


MMMMMmmmmm coffee!
Monday, October 29, 2001 @ 5:42 p.m.

I had the realization today that I totally self medicate myself.

I have 2 � cups of coffee EVERY morning, except on those weekend days that I space about it, and then I'm a COMPLETE slug for the entire day.

I'm serious, I get depressed, cause my anxiety builds up over exactly how horribly lazy I am. I mean sometimes I can't even will myself up off of the couch.

Then on those days I inevitably realize sometime WAY to late for it to do any good that I totally forgot to have my 2 � cups of coffee.

[Did I mention I used to FREAK out on myself cause 3 cups was just way to much to be drinking in my mind. ADDICT, popped into my mind on a regular basis. Somehow 2 � cups is a much safer number. Doesn't make me feel all dirty inside. I didn't say it makes since, it just works for me.]

Anyway, with caffeine I am totally productive. I get up on weekends and clean, and cook, and do my school work.

I feel good about myself, and I feel good that I'm not being a slug.

So, my realization today was that I'm totally self medicating my low blood pressure though. I mean I have mentioned it to my Doctors, every single one I have ever had. They just seem to smile, seriously. One even said "lucky you." Another said, "Yeah, wait till you are my age then we will see if you have low blood pressure."

Yeah well that may be the case, but for right now it is totally a fact of my life, and it sucks.

So low blood pressure and the fact that the allergy meds that work for me, also tend to totally zombie me out. It's just a big old catch 22.

I mean to just feel what I think is normal I have to start my day with 2 � cups of Java. Then at midday I pop a couple of Metabolifes. Good lord they are great, don't make me loose weight, but the ephedra and gotu kola do a number on my low blood pressure. And the ephedra has the added benefit of making my lungs not feel all asthmatic. [ephedra is a bronchial dilater]

[Incidently, sugar busters IS making me loose weight; 12 pounds in the last couple of months. Slowly but surely.]

So the thing is I'm an educated addict.

I read up on botanicals. I guess this could be viewed as good or bad.

Anyway, this means I'm aware of their tendency to become ineffective at some point if continually taken.

So, today marks my first day back on the midday metabolife after a month break so as to keep the same affect going without having to up the dosage.

Good lord I feel great.

I came home and cleaned, and haven't even thought of plopping down on the couch.

Thing is this last month was hell, coupled with wanting to just crawl into bed as soon as I got home and the fact that my allergies were back and manifesting themselves in hereto unseen symptoms. Good lord the thick snot hanging at the back of my throat is just so totally uncalled for. And the sinus pressure headaches that were the end result of one nostriled breathing were just getting unbearable.

I mean I ignore them a lot, but after days and days, and days I just loose the ability to do that.

I was about to go insane from one on Friday morning, that had lasted a full 5 days and refused to be ignored for one second longer.

Luckily hot peppermint oil showers and four new allergy medications are working miracles I tell you.

So anyway yeah, now that I'm propping my low blood pressure up to the medium end of normal I'm feeling a LOT better today.

Maybe I'll try some less extreme herbs like Garlic and Hawthorne which both have adaptive blood pressure medicating abilities.

Anyway, last week was red ribbon week at school .

I guess it just got me to thinking.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.