Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


"There you are . . ."
Sunday, December 30, 2001 @ 11:11 a.m.

So.

There I am getting ready to check out at Central Market today.

I look around to see if Dwayne is working, but no luck.

Something told me, just wait a bit, pretend like you are shopping for flowers.[They have an incredible open air flower market right at the checkout stand area.]

So I'm there fuddy duddying around, and I look up to see Dwayne working a checkout stand!

Ok, so at this moment I think something akin to what happens to Cartmen's mom, in the South Park Episode; Cartmen's Mom is A Dirty Slut, began happening. [Imagine cheesy 70's era disco love ballad floating through the air, "Their you are . . ."]

Anyway, he's busy, so I pretend to shop just a bit longer, I notice a couple eyeing him as a possible line for them to step into, I think I'm safe, no other open checkers to steel me away from his line. So, I pull a swift maneuver, but not one that would be noticeable as one and land my self swiftly in his line. Just as he is counting out the last bit of change to the person in front of me, a checker who had been masquerading as Dwayne's sacker, comes and snatches me away!!!

Needless to say, I was soooooo not thinking nice things about her, but what was I to say,

"NO! I want Dwayne's line!"

UHG, so I follow my cart which is now being tugged by afore mentioned checker whom evil, horrible, nasty names were being hurled at inside my head.

I look up, at Dwayne when we arrive at the line next to his, and he flashes me that amazingly wonderful smile of his and says, "I haven't seen you in awhile. How have you been?"

Pitter patter, Pitter patter . . .

Ahhhhhh.... He remembers me.

"Great, I know. We keep missing each other." I reply.

"He flashes me another great smile, and I hope I am doing the same, and not doing my "Oh my, I'm nervous lop sided smile."

At which point the checker who I am still thinking up insulting names for, the one who stole me away from Dwayne's line, interrupts to ask me some fuddy duddy question about the Central Market coffee club. What ever, can't she see I"m busy flirting?

So, as I'm walking out the door, which takes me literally feet away from Dwayne, he leans over and shakes my hand.

"It's really great seeing you again."

"You have a great end to your weekend. It was really great bumping into you too." I reply.

He squeezes my hand, in his wonderfully manly paw and smiles again as he says, "See you soon, young one."

Young one?

YOUNG one?

[This was a reference to a previous visit when he noticed my age on my driver's licence] I seriously doubt he is over 32, but I guess relatively speaking I'm a young one compared to him.

That comment made me a bit nervous, instantly throwing me into mind reader mode, trying to see through the mists as to whether this pappa bear was just having fun with me, or if he really does consider me a mere tike of a fellow to not be taken seriously.

Then I see that wonderful smile spread across his whole face and realize he is just teasing.

So, I'm thinking I'm going to need a LOT of groceries this week.

:)

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.