Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Cool, Crisp mornings walking with my cousins . . .
Thursday, January 24th, 2002 @ 6:12 a.m.

One thing I love about Houston, is how very cosmopolitan it is.

Shambala, is from Nigeria.

She is a profoundly gifted student, and although we sometimes have a collision of personalities, she is still one of my favorite little souls.

She wants to me a writer when she grows up, and that just thrills me. She turns in page upon page for a written assignments. And it's good, you know?

Shambala, just returned from a 6 week trip back to Nigeria with her whole family, complete with a new accent that just thrills me.

We were working on math, I'm quickly catching her up to where she needs to be, and I quietly ask her, "What was your very favorite thing about your trip back to Nigeria?"

I was expecting her to say, "The animals." or "Her cousins." or something else more concrete, I guess I had temporarily forgotten who I was talking too.

She looked up from her skills sheet that we were working on, and gazed across the room at nothing, deep in thought.

Still gazing across the room at nothing, a few moments later, she replies "I loved most, the very cool, crisp mornings that I would awake to in Nigeria. I would go walking with my cousins in those very cool mornings, the days were so very hot."

I smiled broadly. "I'm so glad that was your very favorite thing. I hope you write about your cool, crisp mornings in Nigeria."

I continued to smile for just a moment, then we went back to our math.

I love moments like that.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.