Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


For the love of cheddar
Sunday, February the 3rd, 2002 @ 8:38 p.m.

I returned to the Temple of Cheese today.

It had been two weeks since my last visit, but I hoped that High Priestess Virginia would remember me.

As I approached her altar she was doing her best to convert a group of non-believers to the wonders of Neal's Yard Stilton, I could tell from the drawn look on her face that it had been a long day of spreading the word of lactose. As I approached the altar I didn't see her register a look of recognition on me when her gaze was cast my way. She mindlessly handed me the little spoon, with a smear of Stilton on it's tip. Not being sure if I really wanted to consume a blue cheese, I realized that I had already gone to far. If I was going to back out from today's supplication it should have been long before the sacred tasting spoon was headed my way. Not wanting to offend the high priestess herself, I placed the smear upon my tongue, where it's creamy sharpness became a very pleasant surprise indeed. I pronounced the cheese sublime, and with that, the high priestess conferred upon me the office of Novice in the Cult of Stilton.

I was disappointed that she did not seem to recognize me, but being surrounded by so many non-believers has got to be draining. When I asked her what cheese she recommended for the very best grilled cheese ever, she absent mindedly gestured over to the cheddar case, with a slack, not caring snap of her wrist, and said, "Get one of the Canadian, Cheddars." I can only hope that my next visit will be more fulfilling.

I chuckled at the wanted poster of Mary Lou Henner, on the bulletin board as I left the Temple.

While public tasting is key to gaining entrance into one of the many cults at the Temple of Cheese, private consumption is often viewed as a more meaningful deed.

Tonight's dinner was a simple one of Stilton crumbles on slices of whole grain pumpernickel. Warmed gently under the broiler till just about to melt. Sublime I tell you, with a simple salad of sliced tomatoes.

*

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.