Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


I'm a 70 year old in a 25 year old body.
Saturday, March the 2nd, 2002 @ 6:36 a.m.

Really, I'm not complaining that my brain woke me up after 9 � hours or peaceful slumber on a SATURDAY morning at 5:30 in the morning. Really, I'm not.

But for a 25 year old on a Saturday morning it just all seems so wrong. Against the natural order of things.

I mean I know 70 year old people who get up naturally before the butt crack of dawn, but I've yet to meet another my age who does.

Really the whole idea, that I'm happy to get up at 5:30 without the aid of an alarm, all bright eyed and bushy tailed, on a still very dark, cold, drizzly, Saturday morning is just a mystery to me. And yet it happens, more often then I'd like to think.

It's probably the end result of my Friday evening that has landed me up at the sprightly hour of 5:30 on a Saturday morning. You see, I've become a bit of a history fanatic as of late, and I'm reentering a period of bookish whore in my life. I say reentering because, this is not the first time that I've been a bookish whore, the early years of junior high and high school were literally dog eared with me, walking to my next class, with my nose in a book. Me, waking up an hour early every morning just so I could soak in the tub and read from what ever book I had. The end result was that I was nearly fluent in the Latin of scientific classification of plants by my senior year, as I was most likely to be reading books on plants and specifically herbs. So, given this personal history I'm not surprised that a week into an 800 page hardbound book on the court of Henry the VIII, that I was led to the bright idea yesterday evening of curling up and being whorish with my book around 7:30 on a Friday evening. [Again this is a characteristic that I would more likely attribute to a 70 year old, not a 25 year old generation X'er.]

Speaking of Henry the VIII, while he did not strictly speaking have someone to wipe his ass, he did have a gentleman of the stool. This persons duty was to attend his lord, while he was relieving himself, to hand him the strips of specially made flannel to wipe his ass with, and to see that the now befouled stool gets cleaned and ready for it's next use, when ever that may be.

Well, I'm seeing dawn's early light. It's time for me to be up and about.

Hugs

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.