Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Dream: me as old, withered artist; a survivor of a American Holocaust (rewrite)
Wednesday, Mar. 12, 2003 @ 8:33 a.m.

I dreamed last night that I was an old, withered man, my height shrunken by age. I was being led around by my arm, held by someone younger because of my frailty. The fear of slipping and breaking my hip a nagging fear of myself and my assistant. We were inside a museum, maybe even the Guggenheim in New York, looking at my own art work on bright white natural light drenched walls. The people around were asking me questions about technigue and the subject and my mental stability when I painted them, and was I still afraid, and did I still mourn my loss. In short they wanted to know my motivations for painting what I did. My motivations were the loss of my Sam, in a cataclysmic American holocaust. A holocaust that I had survived and he had not. In the dream I had frightening flashbacks of witnessing his body being stuffed into an already overcrowded crematorium. Already at that time experiencing horrible guilt over his death and my still living. Killed cause he was arab, and gay, and I was somehow spared, I was not killed, but I had suffered his death a thousand times over since that time, and even in my old age my mourning was still a fresh and open wound of my emotions.

I awoke with a silent stifled scream, and even now I'm crying, and I hurt from deep within, and I don't ever want to loose my Sam in that way, or to have reason to create that art.

The people I was talking to in the museum, they were huddled close cause my voice was old, and not much more then a whisper. They watched me in silent detachment. And I hated them. HATED them for objectifying my pain. For only wanting to hear, and not to understand, or to feel my pain, or to even really care about what had happened. I wanted them to know my Sam, and my love for him, and they didn't want to know him, they only wanted to know the paintings and I HATED them. I loathed them. I wanted to spit on them and curse them but I didn't. I kept it bundled inside and only pretended not to hear the more idiotic questions. I hate them now still, even after I have awoken and I wonder if this dream was about my Sam, or about my art. I HATED THEM!

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.