Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


notes to self
Saturday, Mar. 15, 2003 @ 12:35 p.m.

I was up at 6:30 and washed and vacuumed the car. It still looks dirty. I think the smog sticks to the paint and doesn't come off with those high pressure hot soapy water wand thingies. I gassed up the car, went and stocked up on generic docongestant with expectorant combo at Walgreen's, bought some more oxyclean to treat a few more oh so stubborn carpet stains, ate breakfast and made my coffee all before the hour of 8. I laid down with Mia for awhile and cuddled while Buffy, Season III; Episode 'Helpless" writer's commentary played in the background. I got up before it was over and started painting a copy/inspired by painting of Monet's 1900-01 masterpiece, Water-Lily Pond, Water Irises. I must take more art classes. I've painted the first bank of Iris leaves that enfold the curving foot path to the Japanese bridge with ease. They are not flat and with out depth and you can see the depth with in the leaves, you know that they take up a few feet, and are not just a flat row of leaves. I'm proud of capturing that effect, something that has eluded me greatly in the past. I know it can be directly attributed to the one drawing class I have taken so far. I confessed to Mal yesterday on chat, or maybe the day before that I'm going to take a 4 session painting class from a local impressionist painter. I guess he is a painter of some notoriety. And his price is reasonable, and the class can be ongoing, basically as long as you pay the fee you can keep showing up for his weekly class. Sam called me early and it was nice to hear his voice. We are getting together this evening, for who knows what. I told him I won't make plans, that my evening is his. I think I need a class in color theory. I crave to use some coral tinged oranges in my paintings, nearly verging on purple these oranges. They crop up a lot in Monet's paintings, and they are vital and alive and make me gasp at their beauty. I keep trying various mixtures of cadmium oranges with acra magenta's and dioxidan purple I come close and they are pretty, but well they are just not precisely what I'm trying to mix. I love his russet hued path in this painting, it's got blurry wisps of periwinkle and that coral color I'm talking about in it. Anyway. I'm off to plunge into it again. Hugs.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.