Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


My little blood drinker
Friday, Apr. 18, 2003 @ 8:15 p.m.

It's been a busy and eventful vacation already.

Yesterday evening, on my way home from work I stopped by the nursery near the school I teach at. It's owned by a Vietnamese family. They grow many of their things from cuttings, and have amazing prices. Also they stock a lot of Asian herbs and vegetables like Kaffir Lime and Thai eggplant. Yummy, on both accounts. Anyway, Sam is oft to remenisce about the lemon trees and Jasmine of the Lebanon of his youth, so I bought both yesterday at the nursery. You would not believe the scent of the lemon tree. They both seem to be the most fragrant in the evening. He was very pleased to see them last night. I told them they were for him, but they had to live at my place. He smiled, and gave me a huge hug, and a tender yet passionate kiss. I love him, and I feel my eyes start to water as I confess that here on this page. We went to dinner with Jeff at Mo Mong. We had a great time. I had finished one dirty martini when I promptly sent my glass skittering across the table with a wild hand gesture that was an integral part of my describing my trip to California to Jeff. Jeff promptly cut me off and wouldn't let me touch my second martini. :)


Well, if you'll remember I've been feeling rather maternal. Check that, I've been having insanely hormonal fits of I must have another baby now, episodes. I considered another dog, or a ferret, even a house bunny, but the pet I've wanted all my life has always been a parrot, specifically an African gray but that is still a ways down the road. Anyway, another parrot I've often considered are green cheek conures, dubbed the quiet conure, but they can still scream. They have great comical personalities and readily bond to people, but also their has been this other little parrot in the back of my mind. The smallest true parrot in fact. The pocket parrot or Parrotlet.

"Parrotlets are one of the smallest parrots, the tiny clown of the parrot world, and the darling of their owners. They are true parrots, comparable to the much larger Amazon Parrot, to which they are related in both biology and personality." [http://www.parrotletconnection.com/index.html]

Meet Louie, the darling pacific parrotlet that is now residing in the parrot mansion in my bedroom.

He's just darling and not more then 4 inches in length. He has striking green facial plumage, and glints of metallic, cobalt blue with turquoise accents on his wings and rump. He's quiet friendly and readily hops on my finger especially if I entice him with a bit of millet spray. He has the most charming little chirp, and luckily for my neighbors this species is incapable of screaming. He's a tidy eater and does not produce a dander. Of secondary importance they can become quiet the little talkers, but more importantly are highly playful and VERY sociable with their humans. So far Mia, has been completely intrigued. She was nervous for a while but finally learned to relax and just watch from a distance. Oh, I named him Louis, after Louis from the vampire chronicles. You see when the lady at the aviary first placed him in my hands to hold he promptly bit me on the cuticle of my thumb and, well, drew blood. So I figured the little vamp needed a vampiric name. Armand was really my initial intention, but I think it would be a bit difficult for him to learn. It's got to smooth a sound. I think Louie will work out better. And somehow it just seems to fit.

I'll keep you informed or our future antics.

Hugs.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.