Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


My day, Easter seems to be for gardening.
Saturday, April 19, 2003 @ 5:00 p.m.

I've spent 6 of the 7 hours that I've been awake today outside playing in my patio garden. [I slepped 12 hours last night.] Wow, that felt good!

I potted the lemon tree into one of my earthboxes and flanked it with two Thai chilies and a couple of Thai eggplants. I moved my huge red wood plant stand [3 tiers and 6 feet tall] over into the sunniest part of my patio, it also happens to be a flower bed, but it is sooooo full of roots, that I've given up attempting to plant things actually in the soil there. I cleaned out the whiskey barrel pond, reset the bald Cypress bonsai growing in it, and cleaned up the dwarf water lily. I put the avocado tree's earthbox on a vintage typewriter stand on wheels so now I can keep it positioned in sunlight a bit better. The bay tree is flanking my back door and on the other side is my redwood trellis box my dad made for me planted with the Jasmine. I freshened the soil in my little rose's pot, and mulched all the earth boxes with rice hulls. I took my big jade plant out of it's soil, freshened it up with some new potting soil and rice hulls, some good organic fertilizer mix and reset the whole thing deeper, hopefully it will stay seated this time.

I came inside to take a shower, and get the dirt and sweat off of my face and body. I remembered I still had the shower perch from the cockatiel I had at one time, and let Louie in on the shower time fun. I'm not sure he knew what to make of it all, but he started singing with me, so he must have felt fairly comfortable overall. I rolled up the top layer of newspaper in his cage and cleaned and freshened his water and food mix. He played with Mia and I for awhile on the couch and I gave him a bit of a sprouted millet spray for a treat. He seemed to really dig that. When I sat down to start typing this entry I left the bird mansion's big front door open, after swinging upside down on his swing for a bit, he decided that outside with me was the place to be, and hopped onto the back of my computer chair that Jeff gave to me. Mal, who happened to be online, agreed that was really cool, then after Mal left, he decided to take a flying leap over to sit by Mia on the bed. Mia hardly payed him any attention. I walked over by them, just in case. I trust Mia, but hello, predator, and fast moving small object [Louie] equals tons of pouncing fun. I mean really instinct is just going to win out. Supervised play time is the way to go. Arty, [the cockatiel] used to groom Mia on occasion. Mia pretty much ignored him. Anyway, I hope you all are having a grand weekend.

Love to you.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.