Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


lettuce shmettuce
Sunday, September 14, 2003 @ 8:55 p.m.

I've accomplished an inordinate amount of sleep this weekend. Rising early for all of an hour then climbing back into bed until after noon. Both days. I guess I just felt lazy.

I bought 11 different varieties of heirloom lettuce seeds yesterday, including 3 different Romaine style lettuces. Can we say NUMMY Caesar salads in the not to distant future. I went up to the greenhouse at school and planted 8 flats of lettuce seeds. Did some more digging, and relished every minute of it. It's my own private playground.

I feel a kind of nostalgic connection to my maternal grandfather through this job. He was a grounds keeper at the Phelps mansion (or was it Phillip's) in Tulsa, Oklahoma (or was it Oklahoma city) in the early 1920's. When I was in high school I saw a Scott's fertilizer add that featured the grounds of the mansion and showed it to my grandpa. He had stories to tell, but sadly I have little memory for that kind of thing, even as much as they interest me. I wish I would have kept that add. Also he had amazing fruit trees and bountiful vegetable gardens every summer. Summer meals at grandma and grandpa's were always a vegetarian feast! Mmm those were lovely days.

I talked to Corazon today after I redesigned her layout. I'm waiting to see what she has to say about it. I'm not sure what I think of it. It seemed to pop at first. Now I'm not so sure. I can't help thinking it just needs a bit of somethin', somethin'.

I just ate a VERY unsatisfying avocado. calamity. What is the world coming too when not even the luscious alligator pear can inspire gastronomic gratificatiion?

Habibi and I spent some absolutely lovely quality time with each other and friends this weekend. It was a good time.

I've been awake 8 hours, it's time to hit the sack, again.

1 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.