Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


nesting
Friday, Jul. 29, 2005 @ 9:12 a.m.

I'm so very pleased with my little place
It has really been transformed into a great little home. And it does feel like a home. All it foibles and imperfections seem to be working themselves out and It's become a cute as well as really functional space. I've dubbed my room the Madras room, Subconsciously I must have had the indian subcontinant on my mind. I picked a paint color called 'prairie grass' a nice warm tan for the walls and ceiling. Well, in mass, prairie grass is more of a true yellow ochre color. Then there is my new bed. I had to get rid of the old one in Houston. It's this lovely old Iron looking bed that I got a absolutely smashing deal on. The small room is completed with my great grandmothers two old mahoghany end tables and my grandfathers handmade cedar chest. So the issue came to drapes My vintage 1950's living room was screaming for a draped wall. I fell in love with the draped wall so much after I found my vintage drapes and valances on Craigs list that I decided I wanted one in my bedroom also. So I started looking for vintage drapes on ebay and other places for the bedroom but the search was fruitless for the style I was wanting. By chance I came across a site for vintage silk sari's from India Each one is close to 6 yards of premium silk fabric som heavily embroidered and even after paying for them british pounds I still came out with a smashing deal, and thus the Madras room was born. I'm going to rub a burnt orange-brown color over the walls to give them further charm and look for some cotton saris online to make a washable duvet cover out of for the bed. I think I'll look at traditional indian temple art and paint some paintings for the room too. My most top secret of desires is to hide a micro stereo in the room softly playing sitar music.

The kitchen has proved most problematic. It's not functional at all but I'm working on that. I've been trolling restaurant supplies for a prep table but they have been rather expensive. My mom had the BRILLIANT idea of using my drafting table, a design of my architect brothers as the island. And "Voilat!" an instant practical work space has been created at no extra cost to me. My next big projects include hanging my draped walls. Doing the rubbed finish on my bedroom walls. Rehanging all the bathroom hardware I took down when I painted. Finding and installing floating shelves in strategic locations around the place. Getting the abandoned desk out of my storage room upstairs so that I can put my own stuff in there hanging my ceiling fans and wall sconces and organizing the kitchen. Mutch love to you.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.