Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


*cough* "conversation"
Friday, August 5, 2005 @ 8:39 a.m.


It's the hight of summer and yet there is a distinct chill in the air this morning.
Dark, ominous clouds sit on the Southern horizon wafting super chilled air in our general direction.
That's one of the things I love most about living in the high desert, even when the previous day felt like
you were walking next to a blast furnace the day after can transport you to other
seasons, other times, with the refreshing chill that floats over to you on the next
breath of a breeze. My hope of hopes is that this evening, as it's nearing sunset
we will have one of those days. Those days where there are dense alto-cumulus clouds
blanking the entire sky except for the barest sliver of a break to the west. When
we have those days, as the sun slips into the break between the blanket of dark clouds
and the horizon something magical happens with the refraction of the light. The entire
world desaturates, the colors of the mountains going to
gold! Everything seems bathed in this golden light. It's one of the most majestic
experiences I've ever had. One of the great secret treasures of the southwest that
no one seems to talk about. I've always wondered why. Maybe I'm the weirdo that
notices things like that. Don't worry, I'll be sure to point it out to you.


So, I won't go as far as to say that I feel like my new place is haunted... I won't.
But um, I keep hearing foot steps. I'm wondering if it's the next door neighbors
and somehow there footfalls transfer through the common wall. Um, yeah. That's it.

Wow, I had forgotten what friendly meant. Now the drivers here are NOT friendly, but
the people, wow. I've met more people in the space of 2 weeks then I probably did in my entire
6 years spent in houston. That is a supreme exageration, but still, my point is the people here
just have a certain charm. I strolled the nobhill shops yesterday in my noon hour and met the
nicest guy at 'Hey Johnny' a great interiors shop profiled in both Sunset Magazine, and the
upcoming October issue of Architectural Digest. We talked between his other customers about
gardening and the problems he was having in his back yard. Very cool gentleman and
now we know each other on a first name basis. I covet his Moroccan, Nile bamboo and
leather area rugs. Then there is the owner of the great little flower shop on the hill.
We met on line, and now I stop by just to chat, He'll lock the door and we'll go grab
a cup of coffee or we'll run an errand to the bank and then were back to our normal lives.
Did I mention Mannie's? It's such a great spot. I've eaten my breakfast here, nearly
exclusively, for the past two weeks. I'm there right now actually. 2 eggs over-easy,
tortilla, and beans please. I've met this guy that I'm rather infatuated with, Oh God,
and he's 19, 20 in a month, ok 2 months but still,Come on! This from the guy who normally
goes for people twice his age. Anyways, nothing serious. Just an infatuation, great um,
*cough*conversation, um yeah. In other related news my last painting teacher worked primarily
with the figure. I'm really interested in practicing what I learned from him. Jacob, has agreed
to model for me as he needs the money and he just thinks it's a cool thing to do.
It's a new direction for me, in more ways then one, I really need to get back to my color fields.
LoL, my cousin Melinda, daughter of a preacher man, will be living with me for 8 weeks
while she completes a physical therapy internship. I wonder what she will think of a nude man
in the studio. Cracks my ass up.

I have to go to work today. A training for new teachers
starting at 11. It'll be good to show up really. Sure, I'd rather be doing other things, but still,
just to get past the stagnation, the anxiety of starting again, will be good.

I'm so loving my computer.
My wordperfect office 12 has arrived, coffeecup let me download the HTML editor since my liscence was still good.
My favorite image software suite, Corel Draw 12, is installed and working flawlessly, all seems to be good
in the technology realm.

Hugs.


0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.