Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


day dreaming.
Saturday, Nov. 26, 2005 @ 10:45 a.m.

Mmmm, this is lovely. I made it home from the Thanksgiving festivities last night, and I still have a weekend all to myself and painting, and bleh, fucking paperwork.

I was reading back through entries the other day, a LOT of entries, and realized I say FUCK a LOT, a lot, a lot.

Thanksgiving was lovely, family together. Laughing and lounging together. We had a delicate lemon-herb roasted turkey; with mmmm thyme, rosemary, and sage. It was perfectly juicy and packed a wollop of, not overwhelming, flavor. Our families own brand of cornbread/wholewheat dressing. Mmm, savory. Butternut squash pudding, as in a baked soft delicacy, not jell-o. Mixed greens with a fine julienne of ham and onion in a flavorful broth reduction. Cranberry salad, mashed potatoes, and the indispensable giblet gravy. Mmmm. giblets. Mmmm gravy. Oh yes, and the homemade multigrain, sweetened with honey, bread fresh from the oven for the dinner. Last years bread was more my masterpiece, but this years turkey was over the top. The dif? I sliced the lemons that went into the turkey cavity instead of rolling and pricking them equaling a more pronounced lemony goodness.

I'm home now, and while I miss my family, I'm so glad to be here surrounded by my paints and intermittently getting my paperwork out of the way.

Speaking of painting.

Last Monday I was out on my back stoop photographing my paintings in the shadow of my apartment building and Alma, a rather nice neighbor I'm rather fond of came out to watch. "James, I didn't know you were a artist!"

"Yeah, I like to pretend I am." (a bit of false modesty that)

"I have to call my friend Jill, she's a gallery owner here. She has to see this!"

Anyways, Jill wasn't in. But Alma came running out of her back door a bit later with gallery pamphlets and books from projects Jill has been involved in. I guess Alma is rather involved in the local scene. Anyways, I had been like "Oh great, another 2 bit gallery." In my head, but the literature is so professional and I've done some drive buys and it's in this great old town location and from all outward appearances looks incredible. I'm supposed to expect a drop by from Alma and Jill. The place is more picked up then usual and only conveys that I'm a bit untidy, not that I'm a complete and total slob. On my to do list this weekend, is to get a portfolio printed up for Alma so she can have something to push on Jill the next time she sees her. :)

I'm loving teaching, but I'd still trade in my carreer for full time painting. I know one gallery contact isn't going to empower me to do that, but I feel momentum building in all this. Besides I can work part-time at Starbucks for my benefits. :)


3 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.