Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


morning freewrite
Thursday, Dec. 29, 2005 @ 9:53 a.m.

I heard on the radio, a week or so ago, that Google had updated the algorithms that it uses to find information on the web. That this was going to revolutionize the way that search engines find information. Thing is, I noticed, that in the last week or so, about the same time frame, I've stopped getting googled. A few of my pages were reliable google hits. Strange. I'm not much of a hit whore any longer so I really don't care. Just something I've noticed.

I bought a couple of little boxes at the art store. There kinda cute, and are made to be painted on, embellished on, what have you. The top surface is a support called clayboard, basically a ground of kaolin clay, if I'm not mistaken, I've been painting on them in a style that is rather reminiscent of watercolors. Anyway, this surface is intriguing because now that these thin washes have cured it appears as though the paints have the luster of fine china, and there is this weird illusion of depth between the washes, as if gazing into glass or something. I wonder how big a sheet of this stuff you can get! The luminosity achieved is kinda exciting.

I've been scumbling white over the mushroom painting, wanting to obliterate all but the forms I've so carefully created. I want these paintings to work so badly it hurts. Frankly, I'm out of practice for painting in a representational way, which is all the more reason for getting the cobwebs out of the way, and getting these paintings out of control. The creation panels dwarf my work surface, and when they are laid out on the five-legged, lion-pawed, table the studio is a bit cramped for working on other things. I'm considering laying panel 2 on the kitchen island so I can get it's final pours done and still be able to work on my other side projects.

Zuniprincess, has layers. Evidently he makes pottery in the style of his tribe. Fascinating.

Merlin is so my protector. Poor guy, where I go, he goes. I try moving around a couple of carpet squares depending upon where I'm going to be in the apartment so he doesn't have to curl up on the cold wood floors. Mia tends to stay curled up on the couch or in her den in my closet.

1 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.