Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Madonna, Politics, and Gary Ernest Smith
Monday, Jun. 12, 2006 @ 11:04 a.m.

Don't get me wrong, Madonna was fucking fantastic. But I must tell you about the paintings.

We arrived in Phoenix, got the rental car and headed straight for the galleries in scotsdale. The first painting I saw was a stunning NC wyeth of cowboys on horses. It was BRILLIANT and had sold for just under a million dollars. This piece was stunning, I so hope it's going in a museum because I was one of the best I've seen of his. Then it happened, we walked in this gallery and I felt instantly as though I was surrounded by objects that I knew, It ended up being full of the works of Gary Ernest Smith, a contemporary Utah artist I greatly admire. I copied one of his paintings here, Egg Gathering, after Gary Ernest Smith. I was lucky enough to find his book at the gallery. I normally paint in a less representational fashion, but oh how I LOVE the paintings of Gary Ernest Smith. My encounters were not over so quickly as the gallery run in. We went to the phoenix art museum on Sunday, and there he was, one of his HUGE field paintings, in close proximity to a Maynard. You can definately see the connection.

Madonna was lovely, lovely, lovely. She started late, but then I told Roy, the sun has not set yet, and it's still the sabbath, sure enough at 8:37, sunset, things started rolling on the show. She was stunning decending from on high, encapsulated in a Ginormous mirrored disco ball. I was dancing the whole damn time, sang to every song, along with everyone around me. There had been a lot of hype about the lack of air conditioning that she demanded, but it remained pleasantly warmish for the entire show. She is a brilliant artist. Fiesty as ever, no professions of loving her fans were to be had. Madonna, her music, stunning choreography, brilliant political commentary.

That being said, it really pisses me off when people say that artists and celebrities shouldn't make statements about politics. There fucking people too, living in this world, under it's laws and policies. The very nature of many artists work focuses on social and political commentary, and thank God for that!
Where does the constitution say, 'free speech, except for artists and celebrities.' um yeah.

The family is arriving soon, I need to go paint.

Love to you.

1 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.