Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


-
Saturday, Jan. 06, 2007 @ 1:40 p.m.

I had this whole missive constructed yesterday afternoon to post here. Then I opened up a separate browser window cause I wanted to cut and paste something I had written in Jason's notes. I've done this kind of thing before, but this time his notes opened on the same tab I'd written my entry on thoroughly and completely obliterating it. I can't for the life of me remember why or what I had written.

*phft*

So, years ago I had this idea for a novel construct itself in my brain. Pieces of the x-files and Mrs. Pollifax coloring my literary ambitions. I doggedly typed out several rough, VERY rough, pages. Then I started painting and well writing in general took more of a back seat in my life, even here. I've had the flu for a week, or fever at least. I woke, again, last night at 3 chilled and feverish. Miserable in other words. I downed another dose of NyQuil, took another antibiotic for the adjoining sinus infection, turned on the heating pad and crawled back into bed with the laptop because for some reason I had also woken with the HUGE need to reconstruct at least the basis of what had been those first couple of chapters. I think I got 2 paragraphs typed but was VERY happy with them. Much more so then what I had originally written all those years ago.

Oh to paint and write my days away. Audrey Niffenegger is my role model in that respect. A accomplished painter, and venerated writer.

New years day was great. (and now for the aforementioned cut and paste from Jason's guest book) I did the whole family thing this year, which was mostly perfect. My dad spazzes cause I spend all day in the kitchen, he told me, "Next year I'm cooking and your resting." I grinned at him, "Dad, this is my playground. I love doing this, plus I don't have to do the dishes." we both chuckled. We had fish fried like grandma does it, black eyed peas simmered slowly in chicken stock with carrots, celery, onion, bay leaves, peppercorns, thyme, and saffron for a lovely color; mixed greens wilted in a caramelized onion and chicken stock reduction, and homemade hushpuppies. Mmm.

3 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.