Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


dia de los muertos series
Saturday, Nov. 10, 2007 @ 9:47 a.m.

I think I was dreaming of grandeur.
I woke with the phrase, "I will be a living national treasure." bouncing round my brain.

These are a series of photographs, the last a self-portrait I wish to transform into paintings. The first three are from a dia de los muertos inspired fashion run at the Rock, Papers, Scissors, fashion benefit last year at the wool warehouse in Albuquerque, NM. The last is my halloween costume from last year inspired by show. Even though I was feeling little better then smelly ass yesterday evening, I went to kinko's and had full sized black and white cartoon images printed at 30" by 40" and 24" by 48" inches respectively. Painting from photographs is not my favored method but haveing full sized cartoons makes things soooo much easier, your scale (my biggest hoop to jump throgh when attempting some form of realism) is right there, already for you. Your brain doesn't have to do any work to convert the scale of objects from your respectively miniture photograph to the size your working on. To my suprise I got the 'gay discount' at Kinko's. Yay, even with my, been sick all week, looks. I got my first gay discount in YEARS. Lol. I thought I had lost it. I got all four cartoons for 18 bucks, a steal, let me assure you.

There are some problems with framing and composition in the middle two images that I will have to fix while painting.

Dia de los muertos 2006


bride and groom dia de los muertos reference 2


Bride and groom dia de los muertos reference


dia de los muertos self portrait reference image

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.