Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


U.S. Presidential Race and Climate Change
Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008 @ 2:04 p.m.

I was watching Nature on PBS profile a photographer who works in South America's Patagonia Region and I was suddenly struck by how valuable images of natural subjects and landscapes will be in the very near future. That soon images of �Earth That Was,� to borrow Joss Whedon's Firefly phraseology, will probably fetch sums of astronomical proportions.
Don't call me Chicken Little or anything but I can't for the life of me figure out why global warming is not more of an issue here in the U.S. Presidential race. Early on, before I started actively watching the debates, I had assumed that THE main issue the candidates were talking about would be Global Warming. When I started watching the debates a month ago cause I truly want to be informed this go around I was, um, surprised during the first debate when it didn't come up. But I thought and actually made excuses to myself like, �Oh, they MUST have talked about it a lot in the previous debate.� But then the next debates and, well-- it wasn't mentioned, again. And then I thought, �Are you kidding me?� So then I started bumping around the Internet to figure out what each of the candidates has said about it, and, well, there is a hole pile of not much, out there.
Honestly, I'm flabbergasted by it all. National Security, Universal Health Care, Equal Rights, and the Economy are important for sure and deserve candidate attention BUT to me there is no more pressing issue then that of Global Warming. Climate change should be our number one priority as a planet and a country. I'm of the opinion that WWII era wartime rationing is in need to devote resources to the pressing issue of developing technologies to get us out of this predicament. Corn needs to stop being used as fuel, and replaced with switch grass or other less petroleum intensive perennial crops. The American auto industry needs to get off their asses and follow Toyota's lead by committing themselves to producing zero emission vehicles. AND why aren't the American auto makers the world leaders on this issue, really? Seriously I'm fed up with the American auto industry. They are lumbering dinosaurs that need to go ahead and evolve into adaptable mammals. Please, please, please. One of you candidates get serious about climate change. 2050 is NOT an acceptable target date for measurable change. I'm most disappointed in Obama on this. For such a young and with it kind of candidate I thought for sure HE would be the one that was getting this issue out there. I still hope he IS the one that gets this issue out there, well, now that Richardson is out of the race.

P.S. As an aside, I LOVE that NOVA is using a portion of the orchestration of Buffy's final battle scene from season 7 as background music for one of their more dramatic commercials. :D

Obama climate change.
Edwards climate change.
Clinton climate change.
Huckabee climate change.
McCain climate change.
Thompson climate change.
Romney climate change.
Giuliani climate change.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.