Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


Casa Vieja; Corrales, New Mexico
Friday, Feb. 8, 2008 I think @ 10:00 p.m. approximately

Tonight I had an amazing first date! Manuel's company is incredibly charming. As first dates go I think this was my most enjoyable ever. I can tell we are going to hit it off. We compliment each other, or, well, atleast I think we will compliment each other.

I have a new favorite place on the planet.

Casa Vieja in the quaint village of Corrales, NM.

It's an amazing restaurant and tavern. I love the concept, it's a fine dining establishment with an upscale casual sensibility. The bar reminded me of an adobe clad, Northern New Mexico version of Cheers, where everybody knows your name. The great thing is that people looking for a bit of a nosh at any price range or complexity of cuisine will find what they are looking for here. The tavern menu is very affordably priced with not much over 10 dollars and loads of nibbly things under. The fine dining and comprehensive wine list begins at about 12 bucks for the kangaroo burger and tops out at the Yak Rib Eye for 54. I went with the divinely inspired, I'm sure, daily chef's special of Black Forest Duck. I have to admit, I ordered the duck because I couldn't imagine the flavors being anything other then a train wreck. Oh dear reader, How very completely wrong I was. My would be rubbernecker choice ended up being an incredibly pleasurable, as in I nearly needed a private room for a private moment, melange of sublimely pan seared medallions of duck breast adorned with fresh bing cherries sauteed in chocolate. Yes, chocolate. Honestly it was the most wonderful combination of flavors I've had swirling about my tongue in, well, ever. The medallions were presented in a fan forming a partial halo around some wonderfully partially mashed slices of potato well seasoned and flavored with cream and a assemblage of cleanly sauteed vegetables rounding out the halo on the opposite side of the plate. All told, a very artful and sophisticated presentation of flavors, textures and aromas.

So, if you are ever in my neck of the woods make it your mission to seek out Casa Vieja in Coralles. I promise you won't be disappointed and might even leave with your pallet having been titillated and your senses awakened.

0 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.