Madrigle

archive -- on display -- contact -- profile -- host -- links -- cookbook


title
Wednesday, Jan. 04, 2006 @ 5:39 p.m.

I think, possibly, this if my favorite movie monologue ever. Not that I can think of any others, mind you. Ok, well there are a couple in Notting Hill that are just yummy also.

The Princess Irulan, Opening Monologue from David Lynch's 1984 adaptation of Frank Herbert's masterpiece, DUNE

A beginning is a very delicate time. Know then, it is the year ten thousand-one ninety-one. The Universe is ruled by the Padishah Emperor, Shaddam IV, my father. In this time the most precious substance in the universe is the spice melange. The spice extends life, the spice expands consciousness, the spice is vital to space travel. The Spacing Guild and its navigators, who the spice has mutated over four thousand years, use the orange spice gas which gives them the ability to fold space, that is, travel to any part of the universe without moving. Oh yes, I forgot to tell you the spice exists on only one planet in the entire universe a desolate, dry planet, with vast deserts. Hidden away within the rocks of these deserts are a people known as the Fremen who have long held a prophecy that a man would come, a messiah, who would lead them to true freedom. The planet is Arrakis, also known as-- Dune.

When I was a kid, I'd watch that bit over and over again. Transfixed by the floating, dismembered head of the princess Irulan superimposed over a backdrop of the known universe, Brian Eno's lovely score adding to the tension of the scene. I'm not usually a fan of information stated just so the audience knows what the hell is going on, but there's a certain something about that piece that just makes me so, I don't know what, but I love it. Great Sci-fi.

***

I can't find my manuscript. I didn't have THAT much done, but at least, I had scrawled down the basic premise of what my main plot device was to be. In huge run on sentences, mind you. It's a loosely veiled autobiographical book safely ensconced in the guise of a fictional occult novella. It sucks right now but I was just forcing myself to write, no editing whatsoever. Why the fuck am I writing about this?

***

I feel more settled tonight. Hopefully I will sleep better. I spent a bit of time updating my profile here. Nothing big, some minor tweaking.

I wish it was easier to upload pictures here. It drives me nuts doing it one at a time. Gotta love Andrew, but gosh I wish the image unloader was a bit more modern. I have loads of photos I've taken lately, but really don't want to be hassled with the uploading. Over Christmas vacation, I woke at first light the last day we were at grandma's there was a thick ground fog that was quickly dissipating, I slipped out of the house and walked out in the woods to the oak grove where we had Papa's memorial service. The shots of the trees, the pond, the rising sun through the fog, they're mysterious and comforting. It was healing being there, in that cathedral of trees. I also took a cue from Zuzu and took some macro shots around the ranch. I got some interesting ones of what I believe are Cassia Senna pods. Also some cute pictures of me and the gang in Houston. I'll get them up at some point. Sooner then later.

Love to you.

2 comments so far

guest book

notes

previous | next

ASHES, ASHES
WE ALL FALL DOWN

yahoo messenger: James87106

[ CoffeeCup - HTML Editor & Web Design Software ]

This icon is in the titles of entries with images. Most images are taken with my Nikon Coolpix 775 or Coolpix 8800. All image editing accomplished with my trusty Corel Photopaint 12. Pictures taken by the author are attributed as such. All others are attributed where able.

� Madrigle, 2000-2007

Site designed by Madrigle. All words are the intelectual property of Madrigle. Images are the property of Madrigle unless otherwise noted or used in the review of a movie or book.

birth of stars
Birth of Stars, Acrylic on Panel, 36" by 48" Collection of the artist

older entries

sticky note.
(Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010)

mispelled
(Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009)

The Finger Prints of God.
(Sunday, Nov. 09, 2008)

Hugh Everett's Quantum Physics is tripping me out. Multiple Universes. Infinite multitudes of me me and you.
(Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008)

It's like getten screwed with your pants still on!
(Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008)

Madrigle's Gallery

Cast and Crew

Toot My Own Horn

Once and Future favorite tunes

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called botanicals and landscapes. Make your own badge here.